Vanitas Machine

Verena Friedrich

Installation

This installation features a lighted candle which sits under a glass bell in the center of a laboratory designed to keep the fire alive. In a controlled atmosphere, by limiting the oxygen that the flame consumes to burn, the artist artificially prolongs the lifespan of the object.

Thus, Vanitas Machine expresses the desire for eternal life, it is an allegory of the efforts one makes in order to prolong existence. But is death inevitable? Here, Verena Friedrich recalls one of the first theories of slowing aging: the rate-of-living. This claims that the faster an organism’s metabolism, the shorter its lifespan. By slowing it down as much as possible, it would therefore be possible to delay death.

In this representation proceeding by analogy, the candle and the glass bell refer to recurring symbols of vanities which evoke death, the passage of time, the emptiness of passions and the futility of human activities. Through the use of these codes, the work portrays the transient nature of existence and suggests the tension that links it with this desire to be kept alive at all costs.

Practical Information

DATE

From 16 Dec. 2020 to 7 Mar. 2021

PLACE

21 Bis Mirabeau
Espace Culturel Départemental
, Aix-en-Provence

© Miha Fras

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Verena Friedrich (GER)

Verena Friedrich is an artist creating time-based installations in which organic, electronic and sculptural media come into play. She was an artist in residence i. a. at “SymbioticA – Centre of Excellence in Biological Arts” at the University of Western Australia and at the Max Planck Institute for Biology of Ageing Cologne in Germany.

Verena Friedrich´s projects have been presented internationally in the context of exhibitions, media art festivals and conferences. She received the International Media Award for Science and Art from ZKM Karlsruhe 2005; a special mention in the VIDA 13.2 Art & Artificial Life Awards; an honorary mention in the Prix Ars Electronica 2015; a jury mention in the Japan Media Arts Festival 2015 and the Transitio_MX award in 2017.

In recent years she has been teaching at the University of Art and Design Offenbach and the Bauhaus University Weimar, both in Germany. Currently she’s an assistant professor and co-heading the ‘exMedia Lab’ at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne, Germany.

Credits & mentions

Technical realization in collaboration with Lab3, Laboratory for Experimental Computer Science, KHM.

Support from the Academy of Media Arts, Cologne.

VANITAS MACHINE

VERENA FRIEDRICH

Installation

Cette installation met en scène une chandelle allumée qui, sous une cloche de verre, trône au centre d’un laboratoire conçu pour que le feu subsiste. Dans une atmosphère contrôlée, limitant l’oxygène que consomme la flamme pour brûler, l’artiste prolonge artificiellement la vie utile de l’objet.

Ainsi, Vanitas Machine traduit le désir d’une vie éternelle et se veut une allégorie des efforts qu’on investit afin de prolonger de l’existence. Or, la mort est-elle inévitable? Ici, Verena Friedrich rappelle l’une des premières théories du ralentissement du vieillissement : le rate-of-living. Celle-ci prétend que plus le métabolisme d’un organisme est rapide, plus sa durée de vie est courte. En le ralentissant au maximum, il serait donc possible de repousser la mort.

Dans cette représentation procédant par analogie, la chandelle et la cloche de verre renvoient aux symboles récurrents des vanités, qui évoquent la mort, le passage du temps, la vacuité des passions et la futilité des activités humaines. Par l’utilisation de ces codes, l’œuvre dépeint la nature passagère de l’existence et suggère la tension qui la relie avec cette volonté d’être maintenu en vie à tout prix.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 11 Nov. 2020 au 17 Jan. 2021

LIEU

21 Bis Mirabeau
Espace Culturel Départemental
, Aix-en-Provence

© Miha Fras

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Verena Friedrich (GER)

Les œuvres de l’artiste Verena Friedrich se présentent sous forme d’installations temporelles mariant des moyens organiques, électroniques et sculpturaux dans lesquelles la recherche théorique et les expériences pratiques constituent le point de départ. Valorisant les interactions directes avec les scientifiques, elle s’intéresse en outre aux travaux pratiques des laboratoires de science du vivant.

Artiste en résidence à SymbioticA – Centre of Excellence in Biological Arts de l’Université d’Australie-Occidentale et à l’Institut Max-Planck de biologie du vieillissement à Cologne en Allemagne, ses projets ont été présentés internationalement dans le cadre d’expositions, de festivals d’art médiatique et de conférences et ont été récompensés par l’International Media Award en Science et Art du ZKM | Centre d’art et de technologie des médias de Karlsruhe en 2005; une mention spéciale au VIDA 13.2 Art and Artificial Life Awards, une mention d’honneur lors du Prix Ars Electronica 2015, une mention du jury au Japan Media Arts Festival 2015 et le prix Transitio_MX en 2017.

Ces dernières années elle enseigne à l’University of Art and Design Offenbach et à l’université Bauhaus de Weiwar, toutes deux situées en Allemagne. Parallèlement, elle mène avec deux collègues le projet exMedia Lab à l’Academy of Media Arts de Cologne où elle met l’accent sur les technologies fait maison, l’art écologique et le bio-art.

Crédits & mentions

Réalisation technique en collaboration avec Lab3, Laboratory for Experimental Computer Science, KHM.

Soutien de l’Academy of Media Arts Cologne.