unborn0X9

future baby production (Shu Lea Cheang and Ewen Chardronnet)

Sound and visual installation

UNBORN0X9 is an art installation and performance questioning the development of foetuses in artificial wombs outside of the body (ectogenesis) and the cyborg future of parenting.

It explores the role of obstetric science in the increasingly technological experience of human reproduction, speculating on new types of bonding that may emerge with artificial wombs. Here, pregnancy is integrated into a high-tech vision of the body as a biological component of a cybernetic communication system.

In collaboration with the echOpen fablab who engages in the development of open source and low cost echo-stethoscope with smartphone application, UNBORN0X9 forks the prototype of a creative tool and hacks the inaudible ultrasonic waves in a sonic conversion that allows the interpretation of an audiovisual and ultrasonic emotional score by performers and musicians.

UNBORN0X9 is a project by Future Baby Production collective. (Shu Lea Cheang et Ewen Chardronnet)

Practical Information

DATE

From 16 Dec. 2020 to 17 Jan. 2021

PLACE

Friche La Belle de Mai, Plateau 4, Marseille

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Future Baby Production (FRA/TWN)

Future Baby Production is an initiative by Shu Lea Cheang and Ewen Chardronnet. In 2016 the echOpen fablab of Hôtel-Dieu hospital in Paris, an open and collaborative project and community fablab with the aim of designing a functional low-cost and open source echo-stethoscope (portable ultrasound device), invited the two artists/authors to collaborate and contribute to the community project through artistic practice and skills. This opportunity led to the UNBORN0X9 project.

Soon a large team of interested artists and cultural facilitators joined the initiative and started working on the various dimensions of the hacking performance project. The Future Baby Production collective name represents the common group effort to raise issues such as the possible impact of low cost echo-stethoscopy on Global Health issues, questions of access to healthcare and motherhood, ectogenesis and the technicization of reproduction, and the back-and-forth between science-fiction imaginary and science in the making at large.

Credits & mentions

An initiative by Shu Lea Cheang and Ewen Chardronnet.
An Antre-Peaux/UrsuLaB production
Co-production: Makery, Labomedia, echOpen.
Technical team: Benjamin Cadon (Labomedia), Thomas Demmer, Jérôme Dubois (Echopen), Vivien Roussel (Thr34d5).
On motherhood: Catherine Lenoble, Alexandra Haché.
With the support of the CNC-DICRéAM, realized in coproduction with gmem-CNCM-Marseille and CHRONIQUES, Biennale of Digital Imagination.
This project is kindly supported by Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab.

unborn0X9

future baby production (Shu Lea Cheang et Ewen Chardronnet)

Installation plastique et sonore

UNBORN0X9 est une installation artistique et une performance interrogeant le développement des fœtus dans des utérus artificiels hors du corps (ectogénèse) et l’avenir cyborg de la parentalité.

Elle explore le rôle de la science obstétrique dans l’expérience de plus en plus technologique de la reproduction humaine, spéculant sur les nouveaux types de liens qui pourraient émerger avec les utérus artificiels. Ici, la grossesse est intégrée dans une vision high-tech du corps en tant que composante biologique d’un système de communication cybernétique.

En collaboration avec le living lab echOpen dédié au développement d’un écho-stéthoscope open source et à faible coût avec application pour smartphone, UNBORN0X9 détourne le prototype en un outil de création par la conversion des ondes ultrasonores vers l’audible, permettant ainsi l’interprétation d’une partition émotionnelle audiovisuelle et ultrasonore par des performeurs et musiciens.

UNBORN0X9 est un projet du collectif Future Baby Production. (Shu Lea Cheang et Ewen Chardronnet)

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 12 Nov. 2020 au 17 Jan. 2021
Performance le 12 Nov. à 20h au Module.

LIEU

Friche La Belle de Mai, Plateau 4, Marseille

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Future Baby Production (FRA/TWN)

Future Baby Production est une initiative de Shu Lea Cheang et Ewen Chardronnet. En 2016, le fablab echOpen de l’hôpital de l’Hôtel-Dieu à Paris, un projet ouvert et collaboratif et un fablab communautaire ayant pour but de concevoir un échostéthoscope (appareil à ultrasons portable) fonctionnel, peu coûteux et open source, a invité les deux artistes/auteurs à collaborer et à contribuer au projet communautaire par leur pratique et leurs compétences artistiques. Cette opportunité a donné naissance au projet UNBORN0X9.

Bientôt, une large équipe d’artistes et de facilitateurs culturels intéressés s’est jointe à l’initiative et a commencé à travailler sur les différentes dimensions du projet de performance de hacking. Le nom collectif Future Baby Production représente l’effort collectif commun pour soulever des questions telles que l’impact possible de l’écho-stéthoscopie à bas coût sur les problèmes de santé mondiale, les questions d’accès aux soins de santé et de maternité, l’ectogénèse et la technicisation de la reproduction, et le va-et-vient entre l’imaginaire de la science-fiction et la science en devenir au sens large.

Crédits & mentions

Une initiative de Shu Lea Cheang et Ewen Chardronnet.
Une production Antre-Peaux/UrsuLaB
Coproduction : Makery, Labomedia, echOpen.
Équipe technique : Benjamin Cadon (Labomedia), Thomas Demmer, Jérôme Dubois (Echopen), Vivien Roussel (Thr34d5).
Sur la maternité : Catherine Lenoble, Alexandra Haché.
Avec le soutien du CNC-DICRéAM, réalisée en coproduction avec le gmem-CNCM-Marseille et CHRONIQUES, Biennale des Imaginaires Numériques.
Ce projet est soutenu par Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab