Tipping Point

BARTHÉLÉMY ANTOINE-LOEFF

Plastic artwork

In 2014, the glacier named Okjökull passed out due to the climate change. It’s the first Icelandic glacier to disappear. This disapperance marks a tipping point, since we estimate that the glaciers located in our lattitudes should loose 80% of their mass of ice by 2100. Two billion of people will be directly impacted by the disappearance of these glaciers.

The installation Tipping Point is a sensitive and poetic tribute to those dying glaciers. It stages the (re)birth of an artificial glacier protected by a dome; a drip is feeding the glacier that will grow during the exhibition. The device invites the viewer to attend the birth of this artificial glacier. It is inspired by the “ice stupas” invented by the engineer Sonam Wangchuk and used to fight against water shortages during the summer in Ladakh.

Between a laboratory experiment, an attempt to repair the climate or an ironic collector’s item, the installation confronts us with time and scales ;  10,000 years ago, the stabilization of our cryosphere coincided with the firts human traces we found in Mesopotamia, while the fist glaciers are disappearing in 70 years under the pressure of the human activity.

Practical information

DATE

From 1 Dec. 2020 to 17 Jan. 2021

PLACE

Galerie Zola, Aix-en-Provence

ACCESS

In front of the Bibliothèque Les Méjanes

© ERICHARD

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Barthélémy Antoine-Loeff (FRA)

Barthélemy Antoine-Lœff is a french visual artist whose creations of optical and digital artworks, sometimes interactive, often immersive, express dreamlike worlds crossed by a contemplative and ecological relationship of nature and elements. The artist creates spaces for sharing his feelings about the “forces” of the world: dreams, energies, materials, technologies. Refusing to place himself in the field of the Kantian sublime, he positions himself at the place of wonder and infantile craze, as if to claim the part of the dream that we develop as a child.

In 2016, his work “ljós” is nominated to the International Digital Art Prize, Prix Cube. In 2017, he presents his first solo exhibition “Inlandsis” at the cultural center of Gentilly. Barthélemy Antoine-Lœff lives and works in Paris. His works are exhibited in numerous festivals and venues in France and abroad.

Credits & mentions

With the support of the Maif Social Club and the precious helpt of ZINC, Mod’Verre and Réso-nance Numérique.

Tipping Point

BARTHÉLÉMY ANTOINE-LOEFF

Oeuvre plastique

En 2014, le glacier Okjökull s’éteint à cause des dérèglements climatiques. Il s’agit du premier glacier islandais à disparaître. Cette disparition marque un point de basculement (Tipping Point), puisqu’on estime que les glaciers situés dans nos lattitudes devraient perdre 80% de leur masse glacière d’ici 2100. Deux milliards de personnes seront directement impactées par la disparition de ces glaciers.

L’installation Tippint Point est un hommage sensible et poétique à ces glaciers mourrants. Il met en scène la naissance d’un glacier artificiel sous perfusion (ou respirateur artificiel ?) qui grossira le temps de l’exposition, alimenté par un goutte à goutte. Le dispositif invite le regardeur à assister à la naissance de ce glacier artificiel inspiré par les « stupas de glace » destiné à lutter contre les pénuries d’eau lors des sécheresses estivales qui fleurissent dans le Ladakh sous l’impulsion de l’ingénieur Sonam Wangchuk.

Expérience de laboratoire, tentative de réparation du climat, ironique objet de collection, l’installation nous confronte aux temps et aux échelles ; il y a 10000 ans, la stabilisation de notre cryosphère coïncide avec les premières traces laissées par l’homme en Mésopotamie alors que les premiers glaciers disparaissent en l’espace de 70 ans sous la pression de l’activité humaine. 

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 14 Nov. 2020 au 17 jan.2021

LIEU

Galerie Zola, Aix-en-Provence

ACCESSIBILITE

Face à la Bibliothèque Les Méjanes

ACTIVITES GRATUITES
sur réservation

© ERICHARD

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Barthélémy Antoine-Loeff (FRA)

Barthélemy Antoine-Lœff est un plasticien français dont les créations d’œuvres d’art optique et numériques, parfois interactives, souvent immersives, expriment des univers oniriques traversés par une relation contemplative et écologique de la nature et des éléments. L’artiste réalise des espaces de partage de son ressenti face aux « forces » du monde : onirisme, énergies, matières, technologies. Se refusant à se placer dans le champ du sublime kantien, il se positionne à l’endroit de l’émerveillement et l’engouement enfantin, comme pour revendiquer la part du rêve que nous développons enfant.

En 2016, son installation « ljós » est nominée pour le Prix Cube de la Jeune Création International en Art Numérique. En 2017, il présente sa première monographie sous le titre d’«inlandsis» (calotte polaire) au Centre Culturel de la Ville de Gentilly. Barthélemy Antoine-Loeff vit et travaille à Paris. Ses travaux sont exposés et présentés dans de multiples festivals et lieux en France et à l’étranger.

Crédits & mentions

Installation créée avec le soutien du Maif Social Club et l’aide précieuse de ZINC, Mod’Verre et Réso-nance Numérique.