The Rice-Pile Model

LEGACY LAB INTERNATIONAL (Ivan LIU)

Kinetic Sound Installation

The real world is a complex system formed by a network of interconnected entities. Such a system exhibits very unique dynamics where the concept of criticality or the tipping point is very important and relevant to us.

The Rice-Pile Model is based on the physical model of the same name for studying complex critical phenomena such as climate change, avalanche, as well as the spread of diseases and stock market crash. It is a reminder that miniature changes can trigger a drastic event (like a landslide) at a much larger system scale.

We translate the minute granular motion into loud trembling sounds on-the-fly with the help of motion detection and sound technologies. The audio/visual installation oscillate the senses of the viewers between the microscopic and the macroscopic world.

While the audience are captivated in the “live experiment” in front of them, the work also prompts them to understand the underlying mechanisms for the issues we face today, such as the climate change, ant-microbial resistance, food security and biodiversity. These are all examples of critical phenomena arising from complexity, which has become increasingly evident and relevant to us.

Practical information

DATE

From 16 Dec. 2020 to 17 Jan. 2021

PLACE

Galerie Zola, Aix-en-Provence

ACCESS

In front of the Bibliothèque Les Méjanes

© Legacy Lab International
© Legacy Lab International

Share this event on social networks

Artist

LEGACY LAB INTERNATIONAL (TWN)

Legacy Lab International is an art collective founded in 2013, a collaborative practice consists of multi-disciplinary artists, designers, engineers and scientists. Its works stem from research of natural and social phenomena, integrating new technology and traditional media, lying on the borderline between science and contemporary art. The creation of the group ranges from visual arts, installations to performances.

At Legacy Lab International, an art piece is the manifestation of the philosophy and methodology behind. Each creative process involves a series of research and experimentation to understand and extract the underlying principles. Their works prompt the viewers to re-exam how we live and our relations with the surroundings.

Credits & mentions

This project is kindly supported by Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab.
Special thanks to Diemo Schwarz (IRCAM, Paris) for the assistance of CataRT program.

Artistic Director: Ivan Liu
Mechanical design: Alvin Chen
Software program: Daniel Boubet and Wei-Zhe Tseng

The Rice-Pile Model

LEGACY LAB INTERNATIONAL (IVAN LIU)

Installation plastique et sonore

Le monde est un système complexe formé d’entités interconnectées en réseau. Un tel système se trouve régi par des dynamiques spécifiques où le concept de criticité ou point de bascule est fondamental et explicite.

La pièce The Rice-Pile Model trouve sa source dans le modèle physique du même nom, qui permet l’étude de phénomènes extrêmes complexes tels le changement climatique, une avalanche ou encore la propagation de maladies ou un crash boursier. C’est aussi un avertissement nous rappelant que des micro-changements sont capables d’enclencher un événement dramatique (tel un glissement de terrain) à un niveau systémique bien plus large.

Au cœur de l’œuvre, le minuscule mouvement du grain se traduit instantanément en de puissantes vibrations sonores, via des techniques sonores et de détection du mouvement. L’installation sonore/visuelle invite les participants à basculer en alternance entre les mondes microscopiques et macroscopiques.

Alors que le public est captivé par l’expérience en cours devant ses yeux, le travail invite à prendre conscience des mécanismes sous-jacents qui provoquent ces événements et qu’il nous faut aujourd’hui affronter, tel le changement climatique, la résistance antibactérienne, la sécurité
alimentaire ou la biodiversité. Autant d’exemples de phénomènes critiques, résultant de cette complexité, qui s’imposent à nous de façon de plus en plus évidente et pertinente.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 14 Nov. 2020 au 17 Jan. 2021

LIEU

Galerie Zola, Aix-en-Provence

ACCESSIBILITE

Face à la Bibliothèque Les Méjanes

ACTIVITES GRATUITES
sur réservation

© Legacy Lab International
© Legacy Lab International

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

LEGACY LAB INTERNATIONAL (TWN)

Legacy Lab International est un collectif artistique fondé en 2013, au sein duquel collaborent des artistes pluridisciplinaires, des designers, des ingénieurs et des scientifiques. Y sont menées des recherches autour de phénomènes sociaux ou naturels où se mêlent nouvelles technologies et médias traditionnels, à la frontière entre art contemporain et science. Les œuvres qui s’y créent, s’inscrivent tout autant dans les arts visuels, l’installation et la performance.

Au sein du collectif, toute composition est à la fois le manifeste d’une philosophie et d’une méthodologie en arrière-plan. Chaque processus créatif implique une suite de recherches et d’expérimentations afin de mettre à jour et d’en souligner les principes. Et les œuvres invitent le spectateur à réexaminer nos propres modes de vie et nos relations à notre environnement.

Crédits & mentions

Ce projet est soutenu par Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab.
Remerciements chaleureux à Diemo Schwarz (IRCAM, Paris) pour son assistance à la programmation CataRT.