sylvia

STéFane perraud & GASPARD GUILBERT

Immersive sound installation

Exploring the extraordinary sonic potential of a forest, Sylvia immerses us in a tale of anticipation of the living.

The forest is a symphony of sounds that have been changing rapidly since the advent of the industrial revolution. Designed from sound recordings taken throughout 2018 in the Risoux forest by the Haut Jura Regional Nature Park, the sound and visual installation Sylvia projects us into the distant future of this forest, inviting the spectator on a fictional journey to the heart of this forest over more than 20,000 years.

If the great stories carried within them a principle of good hope, the blindnesses and mistakes of the past now make it difficult to project a better world. Everything converges on apocalypse fantasies that plunge us into archaic scenarios, where fear and dread dominate.

Sylvia proposes to renew the reading of the myth of the end of the times that we live in this beginning of the 21st century. By interweaving several theories of anticipation, whether they are rigorous, alarmist, absurd or conspiratorial, the installation traces a singular path in this vast territory of contemporary imaginations.

Practical Information

DATE

From 16 Dec. 2020 to 17 Jan. 2021

PLACE

La Friche Belle de Mai, Panorama, Marseille

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Stéfane Perraud (FRA)

Stéfane Perraud was born in 1975, he lives and works in Paris. He graduated from Decorative Arts school in Paris, and obtained a post diploma in an interactive research workshop in 2001. He obtained a residency at the College de France within the framework of Open Lab in 2011 and a Pictanovo development grant in 2013 for an art/science project linked to nuclear power.

His field of research, linked to the energy of matter and light, regularly prompts him to collaborate with writers and scientists. His work opens up a dialogue which is sometimes fictitious, with the imperceptible and the infrathin, and which aims to connect the various activities of the human soul with the intimacy of matter. His favorite tools and formats are hybridizations that he obtains and deconstructs using new media and advanced science and techniques.

Since 2003, he has collaborated with several artists in the world of theater, dance and performance (Eli Commins, Trajal Harell, Ali Moini…). He regularly exhibits his work in France and abroad (Musée des Arts Décoratifs, Collège des Bernardins, Musée de la Chasse in Paris, Maison Particulière in Brussels, Manoa Art Center in Hawaii, White Room in Quebec…). He is currently preparing an exhibition on the nuclear landscape which will take place at the Lieu Unique in Nantes in 2021, and another in Malta in 2020, on the physical properties of light, as part of the European Vertigo grant.

Credits & mentions

Conception and direction: Stéfane Perraud
Sound design: Gaspard Guilbert
Production: Maison Byron

sylvia

STÉFANE PERRAUD & GASPARD GUILBERT

Installation sonore immersive

Exploration de l’extraordinaire potentiel sonore d’une forêt, Sylvia nous plonge dans un récit d’anticipation du vivant.

La forêt est une symphonie de sons en mutation accélérée depuis l’avènement de la révolution industrielle. Conçue à partir d’enregistrements sonores prélevés tout au long de l’année 2018 dans la forêt du Risoux par le Parc naturel régional du Haut Jura, l’installation sonore et visuelle Sylvia nous projette dans le futur lointain de cette forêt, en invitant le spectateur à un voyage fictionnel au coeur de ce massif forestier sur plus 20 000 ans.

Si les grands récits portaient en eux un principe de bonne espérance, les aveuglements et les errements du passé rendent désormais difficile toute projection d’un monde meilleur. Tout converge vers des fantasmes d’apocalypse qui nous plongent dans des scénarios archaïques, où la peur et l’effroi dominent.

Sylvia propose de renouveler la lecture du mythe de la fin des temps que nous vivons en ce début de 21e siècle. En entremêlant plusieurs théories d’anticipation, qu’elles soient rigoureuses, alarmistes, saugrenues ou complotistes, l’installation trace un chemin singulier dans ce vaste territoire des imaginaires contemporains.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 12 Nov. 2020 au 17 Jan. 2021

LIEU

La Friche Belle de Mai, Panorama, Marseille

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Stéfane Perraud (FRA)

Stéfane Perraud est né en 1975, il vit et travaille à Paris. Il est diplômé des Arts décoratifs de Paris, et obtient un post diplôme en atelier de recherche interactive en 2001. Il obtient une résidence au Collège de France dans le cadre de l’Open Lab en 2011 et une bourse de développement de Pictanovo en 2013 pour un projet art/science lié au nucléaire.

Son domaine de recherche, lié à l’énergie de la matière et de la lumière, le pousse régulièrement à collaborer avec des écrivains et des scientifiques. Son travail ouvre un dialogue parfois fictif, avec l’imperceptible et l’inframince, dans la perspective de relier les diverses activités de l’âme humaine avec l’intimité de la matière. Ses outils et formats de prédilection sont des hybridations qu’il puise et déconstruit dans les nouveaux médias, les sciences et les techniques de pointe.

Depuis 2003, il collabore avec plusieurs artistes dans le milieu du théâtre, de la danse et de la performance (Eli Commins, Trajal Harell, Ali Moini…). Il expose régulièrement son travail en France et à l’étranger (Musée des Arts Décoratifs, le Collège des Bernardins, le Musée de la Chasse à Paris, la Maison Particulière à Bruxelles, le Centre d’Art de Manoa à Hawaï, la Chambre Blanche au Québec,…). Il prépare actuellement une exposition sur le paysage nucléaire qui se déroulera au Lieu Unique à Nantes en 2021, et une autre à Malte en 2020 sur les propriétés physiques de la lumière dans le cadre de la bourse européenne Vertigo.

Crédits & mentions

Conception et réalisation : Stéfane Perraud
Design sonore : Gaspard Guilbert
Production : Maison Byron