Spring Odyssey

élise morin

VR

The interactive VR experiment and the mutant plant are the basis of the Spring Odyssey multimedia project, which will provide a space between the real and the virtual, a mixed experiment around the invisibility of radioactivity.

In collaboration with biologists, experts from NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) are trying to discover the secret of resistance to radioactivity, an essential skill to survive a hypothetical colonisation of space or for a recovering of the earthly living. This secret is potentially hidden in one of the most radioactive terrestrial landscapes: the Ukrainian «red forest». Located less than a kilometre from the Chernobyl power plant, it has become, since the catastrophe, an observatory where answers are sought, found and fantasized, a territory that is both real and a fictional melting pot.

The VR experiment allows you to enter the site and interact with its fauna, flora and the radioactivity it contains. Between fragility, strength and resilience, our relationship with this damaged world will be outlined through the complicity between a real and a virtual mutant plant in order to create a possible way of «living with». It is not a question of denying the ecological catastrophe, far from it, but of rethinking the world from co-existing living organisms, sources of learning, whether they are mutant or not, visible or not without hierarchy.

Presentation of the prototype of chapter 2 of the RV experiment currently in the production phase, which will have a total of 4 chapters.

Practical information

DATE

From 16 Dec. 2020 to 17 Jan. 2021

PLACE

Friche La Belle de Mai, Plateau 4, Marseille

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Elise Morin (FRA)

Trained at the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs in Paris, Central Saint Martins College in London, and the Tokyo National University of Fine Arts in Tokyo, Elise Morin is born in 1978. She lives and works in Paris.

She develops an interdisciplinary practice rooted in ecological thinking that questions our relationship to the visible and to types of coexistence. The design and production processes generate collaborations with scientists, local communities, engineers, musicians and philosophers. The choice of specific places and environments are intrinsic components of her work. They enable reflection on the relationship of creation to the common good, on the role of esthetics in understanding other perceptions of a damaged world.

Her commitment to creation has been rewarded by the award of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Prize |USA| the Best of Lab art and sustainability 2012. Elise Morin has notably exhibited in France at the Centquatre, the Jeu de Paume, the Grand Palais, the Museum of Contemporary Art of the city of Bucharest, Moscow and the city of Tokyo.

Credits & mentions

Artist/Director: Elise Morin
Scientific partners:
Jacqui SHYKOFF, Researcher (DR1 CNRS) and Director of the Ecology, Systematics and Evolution Laboratory, University of Paris-Saclay
Tim MOUSSEAU, Professor of Biological Sciences of Environmental Research in Chernobyl and Fukushima, University of
South Carolina Columbia

Producers:
Lucid Realities Studio – Chloé Jarry
Tulipes & Cie Production – Charles Drouin
France Télévisions
Supports:
CNC-Dicréam
La Diagonale-Paris-Saclay

Spring Odyssey

élise morin

Réalité virtuelle

L’expérience VR interactive et la plante mutante fondent le socle du projet multimédia Spring Odyssey qui propose un espace entre le réel et le virtuel, une expérience mixte autour de l’invisibilité de la radioactivité.

En collaboration avec des biologistes, les experts de la NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) tentent de découvrir le secret de la résistance à la radioactivité, compétence essentielle pour survivre à une hypothétique colonisation de l’espace ou pour une reconquête du vivant terrestre. Ce secret est potentiellement caché dans un des territoires les plus radioactifs : la « forêt rouge » ukrainienne. Située à moins d’un kilomètre de la centrale de Tchernobyl, elle est devenue, depuis la catastrophe, un observatoire où des réponses sont cherchées, trouvées et fantasmées, un territoire à la fois réel et creuset fictionnel.

L’expérience en VR permet d’y pénétrer, d’interagir avec sa faune, sa flore et la radioactivité qu’elle abrite. Entre fragilité, force et résilience, notre relation à ce monde abîmé s’esquissera à travers la complicité tissée avec une plante mutante réelle et virtuelle afin d’ouvrir une voie possible du « vivre avec ». Il ne s’agit pas de nier la catastrophe écologique, loin de là, mais de repenser le monde à partir de tous les organismes vivants, sources d’enseignement, qui co-existent aujourd’hui, qu’ils soient mutants ou pas, visibles ou non sans hiérarchie.

Présentation du prototype du chapitre 2 de l’expérience VR actuellement en phase de production qui comptera au total 4 chapitres.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 12 Nov. 2020 au 17 Jan. 2021

LIEU

Friche La Belle de Mai, Plateau 4, Marseille

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Elise Morin (FRA)

Formée à l’enseignement de l’école Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Paris, de la Central Saint Martins College de Londres, puis de la Tokyo National University of fine arts à Tokyo, Elise Morin est née en 1978. Elle vit et travaille à Paris.

Elle développe une pratique interdisciplinaire ancrée dans la pensée écologique qui interroge notre relation au visible et aux modes de coexistence. Les dispositifs de conception et de production génèrent des collaborations avec des scientifiques, des communautés locales, des ingénieurs, des musiciens, des philosophes. Le choix de lieux et de milieux spécifiques sont des composantes intrinsèques de son travail. Ils permettent d’engager une réflexion sur la relation qu’entretient la création au bien commun, sur le rôle de l’esthétique dans la compréhension d’autres perceptions d’un monde terrestre abîmé.

Son engagement dans la création a été récompensé par l’attribution du prix Solomon R. Guggenheim |USA| the Best of Lab art and sustainability 2012. Elise Morin a notamment exposée en France au Centquatre, au Jeu de Paume, au Grand Palais, au Musée d’art contemporain de la ville de Bucharest, de Moscou et de la ville Tokyo.

Crédits & mentions

Artiste/réalisatrice : Elise Morin
Partenaires scientifiques :
Jacqui SHYKOFF, Chercheure (DR1 CNRS) et Directrice du Laboratoire Ecologie, Systématique et Evolution, Université Paris-Saclay
Tim MOUSSEAU, Professeur de sciences biologiques de la recherche environnementale à Tchernobyl et à Fukushima, University of South Carolina Columbia

Producteurs :
Lucid Realities Studio – Chloé Jarry
Tulipes & Cie Production – Charles Drouin
France Télévisions
Soutiens :
CNC-Dicréam
La Diagonale-Paris-Saclay