Nonlinear Science: Chaos

TSAI Yi-Ting

Installation

“Nonlinear Science: Chaos”, along with the series of works:“Weightlessness”, “Acceleration”,, “Somewhere in time”, “Chaos”, bases itself on the laws of physics, drawing an analogy between life and mechanical devices in perpetual motions.

The artist engages contemplation on the existence of human beings via a scientific approach. Through a miniature mechanism, a mode of operation of the world and between lives are presumed, in which a more macroscopic imagination for the history of an infinite process amidst the relationships of time, space, the world, and humans is proposed, conjecturing the induction process of unpredictable life into laws.

The tension between motion and motionless of an object becomes a bizarre status out of the hovering power. The generation and stagnation of energy stays in the little spaces-time of the object. Pure physical phenomena and arithmetic of mechanical movement are employed in rebuttal of the very definition of life here: “existence is here and now”, “the reason of humans lies in the difference from mechanism”, “what drives us”, and “Chaos, in search of an order amidst the disorder.”. From a microscopic point of view, the linear time given in the artwork demonstrates the chaotic state of life that is random and unpredictable. Nevertheless, in the repeated process of nesting, the artist found these unpredictable paths of life may potentially exist in a larger order and amidst a nonlinear relationship.

Practical information

DATE

From 16 Dec. 2020 to 17 Jan. 2021

PLACE

Galerie Zola, Aix-en-Provence

ACCESS

In front of the Bibliothèque Les Méjanes

© TSAI Yi-Ting
© TSAI Yi-Ting

Share this event on social networks

Artist

TSAI Yi-Ting (TWN)

A new media artist, TSAI Yi-Ting looks for a constant state of life in motion in mechanical devices, rationally handling the labor and alienation processes of human existence. With a chill, poetic approach, TSAI Yi-Ting deems the absolute precision of mechanical movement as an abstract language, conveying a living philosophy. Like a physics experiment, she seeks to make assumptions proposed under the non-linear logic self-defined. Further, amidst the macro and micro rumination over humanity in the space-time, the artist explores the medium of light and shadow that is an intangible existence.

Recognized by the NTUA Outstanding New Media Art Award and the Top Prize of the 14th Taoyuan Contemporary Art Award, TSAI Yin-Ting was also invited to NEU NOW of the European League of Institutes of the Arts at Amsterdam. TSAI Yi-Ting harnesses mechanical elements as her creative medium and as a deeper inquisition into the meaning of life. Channeling her creative force of art, the artist instills energy of life into machines via the dynamics produced out of the combination of precise components and repetitive mechanical motions.

Credits & mentions

This project is kindly supported by Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab.

Nonlinear Science: Chaos

TSAI Yi-Ting

Installation

Nonlinear Science: Chaos, ainsi que la série d’œuvres « Weightlessness », « Acceleration », « Somewhere in time », « Chaos », se fondent sur les lois de la physique, établissant une analogie entre la vie et les dispositifs mécaniques en perpétuel mouvement.

L’artiste propose une œuvre contemplative sur l’existence des êtres humains à travers une approche scientifique. Par le biais d’un mécanisme miniature, un mode de fonctionnement du monde – entre les vies – est imaginé, dans lequel est proposée une conception plus macroscopique de l’histoire de ce processus infini à travers les relations du temps, de l’espace, du monde et des humains. Ce cheminement suppose un processus d’induction de la vie, imprévisible, vers les lois de la physique.

La tension entre le mouvement et l’immobilité d’un objet se transforme en un statut étrange en relation à une puissance planante. La génération et la stagnation de l’énergie demeurent dans les petits espaces-temps de l’objet. Certains phénomènes physiques purs et l’arithmétique du mouvement mécanique sont utilisés pour réfuter la définition même de la vie : « l’existence est ici et maintenant », « la raison des humains réside dans sa différence avec la mécanique », « ce qui nous meut », et « le chaos, à la recherche d’un ordre au milieu du désordre ». D’un point de vue microscopique, le temps linéaire donné dans l’œuvre d’art démontre l’état chaotique de la vie, aléatoire et imprévisible. Néanmoins, dans un processus répété d’imbrication, l’artiste a découvert que ces chemins de vie imprévisibles peuvent potentiellement exister dans un ordre plus large et au sein d’une relation non linéaire.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 14 Nov. 2020 au 17 Jan. 2021

LIEU

Galerie Zola, Aix-en-Provence

ACCESSIBILITE

Face à la Bibliothèque Les Méjanes

ACTIVITES GRATUITES
sur réservation

© TSAI Yi-Ting
© TSAI Yi-Ting

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

TSAI Yi-Ting (TWN)

Comme artiste en nouveaux médias, TSAI Yi-Ting expérimente des états de vie en constant mouvement au travers de moyens mécaniques. Elle y exprime en toute rationalité les processus du travail et d’aliénation de l’existence humaine. Récompensée du Prix de la meilleure œuvre multimédia de l’Université NTUA et du 1er prix de la 14ème édition du prix artistique de Taoyuan, l’artiste a également été invitée au NEU NOW (Amsterdam).

Par cette approche fraîche et poétique, l’abstraction de la précision absolue du mouvement mécanique devient philosophie vivante. Comme toute expérience de physique, l’artiste cherche à poser les hypothèses d’une logique non-linéaire toute personnelle. Qui plus est, plongée dans la macro- et micro-contemplation de l’homme dans son espace-temps, l’artiste explore l’intangible présence de la lumière et de son ombre. Elle exploite les éléments mécaniques comme son médium créatif mais également comme sonde du sens de la vie. Par ses créations, l’artiste insuffle une énergie vitale aux machines dans la dynamique qui naît du mariage de pièces minutieusement réunies et de mouvements mécaniques répétitifs.

Crédits & mentions

Ce projet est soutenu par Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab.