remains

QUAYOLA

Photography

Remains is an ongoing project focusing on nature and the art historical tradition of landscape painting.

High-precision laser scanners are used to capture natural landscapes at extremely high resolutions, resulting in complex digital renderings printed on large-format archival paper. The combination of highly detailed geometric reconstructions and the imperfections of the 3D-scanning process create hybrid formations that lie somewhere in between the real and the artificial.

While recreating similar conditions to those favoured by the ‘en plein air’ painters of the late 19th century, the natural landscapes are actually observed and analysed through extensive technological apparatuses and re-purposed through new modes of visual synthesis.

Practical information

DATE

From 16 Dec. 2020 to 17 Jan. 2021

PLACE

Friche La Belle-de-Mai, Panorama, Marseille

© HOW Art Museum – Shanghai, China
Asymmetric Archaeology / Gazing Machines – Curated by Dooeun Choi – 23 Mar – 2 Jun 2019 – Solo Exhibition
© Paradise Art Space – Seoul, South Korea
Asymmetric Archaeology – Curated by Dooeun Choi – 14 Dec 2018 – 24 Feb 2019 – Solo Exhibition

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Quayola (ITA)

Quayola employs technology as a lens to explore the tensions and equilibriums between seemingly opposing forces: real and artificial, figurative and abstract, old and new.

Constructing immersive installations, often at historically significant architectural sites, he engages with and re-imagines canonical imagery through contemporary technology. Hellenistic sculpture, Old Master painting, and Baroque architecture are some of the historical aesthetics that serve as a point of departure for Quayola’s abstract compositions. His varied practice, all deriving from custom computer software, also includes audiovisual performance, video, sculpture, and works on paper.

Past exhibitions of his work include V&A Museum, London; Park Avenue Armory, New York; Bozar, Brussels; National Art Center, Tokyo; UCCA, Beijing; How Art Museum, Shanghai; SeMA, Seoul; Bienal, São Paulo; Triennale, Milan; Palais de Tokyo, Paris; Museu Nacional d’Art de Catalunya, Barcelona; British Film Institute, London; Cité de la Musique, Paris; Grand Theatre, Bordeaux; Ars Electronica, Linz; Elektra Festival, Montreal; Sonar Festival, Barcelona and Sundance Film Festival.

Credits & mentions

© Quayola

remains

QUAYOLA

Photographie

Remains est un projet en cours qui se penche sur la nature et sur la tradition historique de la peinture de paysage.

Des scanners laser de haute précision sont utilisés afin de saisir des paysages naturels en très haute résolution, créant des rendus numériques complexes qui sont ensuite imprimés sur du papier d’archive grand format. L’association des reconstitutions géométriques très détaillées et des imperfections du processus de numérisation 3D donne lieu à des formes hybrides situées quelque part entre le réel et l’artificiel.

Tout en recréant des conditions similaires à celles des peintres en plein air de la fin du XIXe siècle, les paysages naturels sont en fait observés et analysés à l’aide d’appareils technologiques perfectionnés et remaniées grâce à de nouveaux modes de synthèse visuelle.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 12 Nov. 2020 au 17 Jan. 2021

LIEU

Friche La Belle-de-Mai, Panorama, Marseille

© HOW Art Museum – Shanghai, China
Asymmetric Archaeology / Gazing Machines – Curated by Dooeun Choi – 23 Mar – 2 Jun 2019 – Solo Exhibition
© Paradise Art Space – Seoul, South Korea
Asymmetric Archaeology – Curated by Dooeun Choi – 14 Dec 2018 – 24 Feb 2019 – Solo Exhibition

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Quayola (ITA)

Quayola se sert de la technologie comme d’un prisme à travers lequel explorer les tensions et les équilibres entre des forces apparemment opposées : réelles et artificielles, figuratives et abstraites, anciennes et nouvelles.

En concevant des installations immersives, souvent sur des sites architecturaux historiquement importants, il traite l’imagerie canonique en la réimaginant par le biais des technologies contemporaines. La sculpture hellénistique, la peinture des grands maîtres et l’architecture baroque sont quelques-unes des esthétiques historiques qui servent de point de départ aux compositions abstraites de l’artiste. Sa pratique variée, issue de logiciels informatiques personnalisés, comprend également des performances audiovisuelles, de la vidéo, de la sculpture et des œuvres sur papier.

Ses œuvres ont été exposées au V&A Museum de Londres, au Park Avenue Armory de New York, au Bozar de Bruxelles, au National Art Center de Tokyo, à l’UCCA de Pékin, au How Art Museum de Shanghai, au SeMA de Séoul, à la Biennale de São Paulo, à la Triennale de Milan et au Palais de Tokyo à Paris, au Museu Nacional d’Art de Catalunya à Barcelone, au British Film Institute de Londres, à la Cité de la Musique à Paris, au Grand Théâtre de Bordeaux, à Ars Electronica, Linz ; à l’Elektra Festival de Montréal, au Sonar Festival de Barcelone et au Sundance Film Festival.

Crédits & mentions

© Quayola