Prévisible – hétérotopies #2

ANTOINE SCHMITT

Audiovisual installation

The Marseille-based association M-topia has invited Antoine Schmitt to imagine an artwork linked to prospectives and interrogations drawn by the notions of predictability and responsibility on future climate.

Prévisible – hétérotopies#2 exploits the long term geographical and meteorological prediction data and models extracted from a study directed by the research center GeographR on the evolution of the climate on the region of Sainte Victoire to question the notions of predictability and responsibility in complex realities.

Science tries to anticipate the future based on mathematical and physical models of a real system tending to rely on the past to deduct the future evolutions. To which extent is the future already written, to which extent can we influence it ?

At the beginning, a 3D map of the Grand Site Sainte-Victoire territory deploys, time passes from 2020 to 2100. It becomes an imaginary object, a living map like an organism gifted with a body reacting to temperature and precipitations. This transformation into a pulsating sphere delves the spectator into an abstract fiction, the life of a strange and tormented creature.

Prévisible – hétérotopies #2 explores the probable futures in the field determined by the models, sweeping the whole set of possibles, including the most extremes. At each generation of film, two models and a temporal path are drawn at random. The spectator thus travels in a scientifically plausible organic future.

Practical information

DATE

From 1 Dec. 2020 to 17 Jan. 2021

PLACE

Galerie Zola, Aix-en-Provence

ACCESS

In front of the Bibliothèque Les Méjanes

© Antoine Schmitt
© Antoine Schmitt

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Antoine Schmitt (FRA)

Installation artist, Antoine Schmitt creates artworks in the form of objects, installations and live performances to address the processes of movement in all of their modalities. He questions their intrinsic problematic, in terms of plastic, philosophical or social nature. Heir of kinetic art and cybernetic art and nourished by metaphysical science-fiction, he endlessly investigates the dynamic interactions between human nature and the nature of reality.

Originally a programming engineer specialized in human computer interactions and artificial intelligence, he uses computer programming — as contemporary artistic material, unique by its active quality — at the heart of his artwork to reveal and literally manipulate the forces at stake. With a minimal and precise aesthetics, he asks the question of movement, its causes and its shapes.

His work has received several awards in international festivals and has been exhibited among others at the Centre Georges Pompidou (Paris), at Musée des Arts Décoratifs (Paris), at Sonar (Barcelona), at Ars Electronica (Linz), at the CAC of Sienna (Italy), at the Musée d’Art Contemporain de Lyon (France), in Nuits Blanches (Paris, Amiens, Metz, Bruxelles and Madrid).

Credits & mentions

Production: M-topia 

Supports: DICREAM, Région Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur

Creation produced in co-production with the CHRONIQUES platform, supported by the South Region, the City of Marseille and the French Institute in Paris, coordinated by SECONDE NATURE and ZINC.

Project initiated and designed by M-topia / Fanny Bordier

Conception and realisation: Antoine Schmitt in partnership with GeographR / Philippe Rossello 

Sound recording: Jeroen Strijbos & Rob Van Rijswijk and Lorraine University, Digital Uses Audiovisual and Multimedia Production

Prévisible – hétérotopies #2

ANTOINE SCHMITT

Installation audiovisuelle

L’association marseillaise M-topia a invité Antoine Schmitt à concevoir une oeuvre liée à la prospective et aux interrogations que soulèvent les notions de prévisibilité et responsabilité sur le climat futur. 

Prévisible – hétérotopies#2 exploite les données et modèles de prévisions météorologiques et géographiques à long terme issus d’une étude menée par le bureau d’études GeographR sur l’évolution du climat dans la région de la Sainte Victoire pour interroger les notions de prévisibilité et responsabilité dans des réalités complexes.

La science cherche à anticiper l’avenir sur la base de modèles mathématiques et physiques d’un système réel tendant à s’inspirer du passé pour en déduire les évolutions futures. Estimer l’impact des changements climatiques sur les sociétés humaines implique de parfaire la connaissance des processus en jeu. Mais dans quelle mesure le futur est-il déjà écrit, dans quelle mesure pouvons-nous l’influer ?

Au départ, une carte en relief du territoire du Grand Site Sainte-Victoire se déploie, le temps s’écoule de 2020 à 2100. Elle devient un objet imaginaire, une carte vivante tel un organisme doté d’un corps sensible réagissant à la température et aux précipitations. Cette transformation en sphère pulsante, engendrée par des algorithmes de simulation physique et organique, plonge le spectateur dans une fiction, celle de la vie d’une créature étrange et tourmentée.

Prévisible – hétérotopies #2 explore les futurs probables dans le champ déterminé par des modèles, balayant l’ensemble des possibles, y compris les plus extrêmes. A chaque génération de film, deux modèles et un parcours temporel sont tirés au hasard. Le spectateur voyage ainsi dans un futur scientifiquement plausible organique.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 14 Nov. 2020 au 17 jan.2021

LIEU

Galerie Zola, Aix-en-Provence

ACCESSIBILITE

Face à la Bibliothèque Les Méjanes

ACTIVITES GRATUITES
sur réservation

© Antoine Schmitt
© Antoine Schmitt

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Antoine Schmitt (FRA)

Artiste plasticien, Antoine Schmitt crée des oeuvres sous forme d’objets, d’installations et de situations pour traiter des processus du mouvement et en questionner les problématiques intrinsèques, de nature plastique, philosophique ou sociale. Héritier de l’art cinétique et de l’art cybernétique, nourri de science-fiction métaphysique, il interroge inlassablement les interactions dynamiques entre nature humaine et nature de la réalité. 

À l’origine ingénieur programmeur en relations homme-machine et en intelligence artificielle, il place maintenant le programme, matériau artistique contemporain et unique par sa qualité active, au coeur de ses créations pour révéler et littéralement manipuler les forces à l’oeuvre. Avec une esthétique précise et minimale, il pose la question du mouvement, de ses causes et de ses formes. 

Son travail a reçu plusieurs prix dans des festivals internationaux et a été exposé entre autres au Centre Georges Pompidou, au Musée des Arts Décoratifs (Paris), à Sonar (Barcelone), à Ars Electronica (Linz), au Centre d’Art Contemporain de Sienne, au Musée d’Art Contemporain de Lyon, aux Nuits Blanches (Paris, Amiens, Metz, Bruxelles et Madrid).

Crédits & mentions

Production M-topia 

Soutiens : DICREAM, Région Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur

Création réalisée en coproduction avec la plateforme CHRONIQUES, soutenue par la Région Sud, la Ville de Marseille et l’Institut Français à Paris, coordonnée par SECONDE NATURE et ZINC.

Projet initié et conçu par M-topia / Fanny Bordier dans le cadre de hétérotopies#2

Conception, réalisation de l’œuvre : Antoine Schmitt en partenariat avec GeographR / Philippe Rossello 

Collaboration prise de son : Jeroen Strijbos & Rob Van Rijswijk et l’Université de Lorraine, sous-direction des usages du numérique production audiovisuelle et multimédia.