POST GROWTH

DISNOVATION.ORG WITH Baruch Gottlieb, Clémence Seurat, Julien Maudet & Pauline Briand

Transdisciplinary project

The beginning of this century was the theatre of a radical transformation of public sensibilities around issues such as climate breakdown, the collapse of biodiversity, and their multiple geo-political and social consequences.

Through a series of prototypes for eco-political reorientation, the exhibition Post Growth questions the ideological, social and physical components that precipitated the current crises, and seeks to stimulate practices and imaginaries beyond economic growth.

The series of works presented proposes to envision a social metabolism attuned to the material, energetic and living qualities of the biosphere, drawing on notions from ecofeminism, environmental accounting, decolonial studies and hacking.

At the intersection of art, science and activism, this exhibition invites us to explore prototypes of strategic games to decolonize the doctrines of economic growth, to explore alternative paths, and to examine the radical consequences of an economic model reconnected with elemental sources of energy coming from the Sun.

An exhibition coproduced by CHRONIQUES, Biennale of Digital Imagination, 3 bis f – contemporary arts place and IMAL.

Practical Information

DATE

From Dec. 15th 2020 to Feb. 20th 2021
from Tues. to Sat. at 2p.m to 6p.m

Closed from Dec. 20th to Jan. 4th

PLACE

3 bis f – contemporary arts place, Aix-en-Provence

© DISNOVATION.ORG
© DISNOVATION.ORG
© DISNOVATION.ORG

Share this event on social networks

Artists

DISNOVATION.ORG (FRA/POL)

DISNOVATION.ORG is an artist led action-research collective founded in 2012 by Nicolas Maigret and Maria Roszkowska. They develop interdisciplinary inquiries and practices involving artists, anthropologists, philosophers, activists, engineers, architects, designers and hobbyists.

At the crossroads between contemporary art, research and hacking, the collective creates situations of debate, speculation and disturbance, that challenge dominant ideologies such as techno-solutionism and infinite growth, and foster post-growth imaginaries and practices. Their research includes artworks, curation and publications. In 2015, they edited The Pirate Book, an anthology on media piracy. In 2018 they received a Design Trust Grant for research on China’s copycat and grassroots innovation culture (shanzhai). In 2019, they were visiting researchers at the University of California, Irvine for research on post-growth and eco-politics.

Their work has been presented internationally including: Centre Pompidou (Paris), Transmediale (Berlin), the Museum of Art and Design (New York), Palais de Tokyo (Paris), FILE (Sao Paulo), ZKM (Karlsruhe), Strelka Institute (Moscow), ISEA (Hong Kong), Elektra (Montreal), China Museum of Digital Arts (Beijing), and the Chaos Computer Congress (Hamburg)… Their work has been featured in: Forbes, Vice, Wired, Motherboard, Libération, Die Zeit, Arte TV, Next Nature, Hyperallergic, Le Temps, Neural.it, Digicult, Gizmodo, Seattle Weekly, torrentfreak.com, and Filmmaker Magazine among others.

BARUCH GOTTLIEB (CA/DE)

Baruch Gottlieb is an artist researcher and curator. He currently teaches Philosophy of Digital Art at the Berlin University of the Arts and Data Epistemology at the Technical University of Brandenburg. He is a member of the artist collectives Telekommunisten and Arts & Economic Group. He is the author of A Political Economy of the Smallest Things (ATROPOS 2016) and Digital Materialism (Emerald 2018).

CLÉMENCE SEURAT (FRA)

Clémence Seurat is a curator and editor, she investigates the fields of reflection and action related to political ecology. She was a member of the Speap art and politics experimentation program. She co-founded the COYOTE collective and the 369 publishing house. Within the Sciences Po Medialab, she designs programs and edits content for FORCCAST.

JULIEN MAUDET (FRA)

Julien Maudet designs board games as a tool for social interaction. He creates political and satirical entertainment devices based on recent political and social events.

PAULINE BRIAND (FRA)

Pauline Briand is a journalist and a writer interested in the livings. For Billebaude, Usbek and Rica or the National Museum of Natural History, she wrote about myxomatosis, the forests and climate change, the disappearance of insects, bears, the evolution of life, and anthropology beyond the human. She is involved in several research programs at the crossroad between journalism, art and earth policies.

Credits & mentions

Authors:  DISNOVATION.ORG with Baruch Gottlieb, Clémence Seurat, Julien Maudet & Pauline Briand. 

Production: iMAL
Coproduction : CHRONIQUES, Biennale of Digital Imagination and 3 bis f, contemporary arts place.

In co-production with the CHRONIQUES platform, supported by the Regional Council of the South Region, the city of Marseille and the French Institute in Paris, coordinated by SECONDE NATURE and ZINC.

Supports: Production Intérieure Brute (Tours), ArTeC (Paris), La Labomedia (Orléans), University of California (Irvine), Université Catholique de Louvain, supported by CNC (Dicréam).

POST GROWTH

DISNOVATION.ORG AVEC Baruch Gottlieb, Clémence Seurat, Julien Maudet & Pauline Briand

Projet transdisciplinaire

Ce début de siècle a été le théâtre d’une profonde transformation des sensibilités sociétales autour de questions telles que le dérèglement climatique, l’effondrement de la biodiversité, et leurs multiples conséquences géo-politiques et sociales.

A travers une série de prototypes de réorientation éco-politique, l’exposition Post Growth interroge les composantes idéologiques, sociales et physiques qui ont précipité les crises actuelles, et cherche à stimuler des pratiques et des imaginaires au-delà de la croissance économique.

La série d’oeuvres présentées propose d’envisager un métabolisme social en phase avec les réalités matérielles, énergétiques et vivantes de la biosphère, en s’inspirant de notions issues de l’écoféminisme, de la comptabilité environnementale, des connaissances autochtones et du hacking.

Au croisement entre l’art, la science et l’activisme, cette exposition invite à explorer des prototypes de jeux stratégiques pour se décoloniser des doctrines de la croissance économique, à découvrir des voi-x-es alternatives, et à appréhender les conséquences radicales d’un modèle économique reconnecté avec les sources d’énergie élémentaires provenant du Soleil.

Une exposition réalisée en coproduction avec CHRONIQUES, Biennale des Imaginaires Numériques, le 3 bis f – lieu d’arts contemporains et IMAL.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 14 Nov. 2020 au 16 Jan. 2021
du mar. au sam. de 14h à 18h

LIEU

3 bis f – lieu d’arts contemporains, Aix-en-Provence

© DISNOVATION.ORG
© DISNOVATION.ORG
© DISNOVATION.ORG

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artistes

DISNOVATION.ORG (FRA/POL)

DISNOVATION.ORG est un collectif artistique et groupe de travail initié en 2012 par Nicolas Maigret et Maria Roszkowska. Au croisement entre art contemporain, recherche et hacking, ils développent des situations d’interférence, de débat et de spéculation visant à questionner les idéologies techno-positivistes dominantes et à stimuler l’émergence de récits post croissance.

Leurs recherches se matérialisent sous forme d’installations, de performances, de sites web et d’évènements. Ils ont récemment édité The Pirate Book, une anthologie sur le piratage de contenus culturels. En 2018, ils ont reçu le Design Trust Grant (Hong Kong) pour une recherche sur la culture chinoise du Shanzhai. Ils sont actuellement artistes-chercheurs associés à l’Université de Californie à Irvine autour des questions de crises écopolitiques.

Leur travail a été présenté dans des expositions et festivals internationaux : Centre Pompidou (Paris), Transmediale (Berlin), le Museum of Art and Design (New York), Palais de Tokyo (Paris), FILE (Sao Paulo), ZKM (Karlsruhe), Strelka Institute (Moscow), ISEA (Hong Kong), Elektra (Montréal), China Museum of Digital Arts (Beijing), et le Chaos Computer Congress (Hamburg)… Leur travail a fait l’objet d’articles dans : Forbes, Vice, Wired, Motherboard, Libération, Die Zeit, Arte TV, Next Nature, Hyperallergic, Le Temps, Neural.it, Digicult, Gizmodo, Seattle Weekly, torrentfreak.com, et Filmmaker Magazine parmi d’autres.

BARUCH GOTTLIEB (CA/DE)

Baruch Gottlieb est artiste, chercheur et curateur. Il enseigne actuellement la philosophie de l’art numérique à l’Université des arts de Berlin et l’épistémologie des données à Université technique de Brandebourg. Il est membre des collectifs d’artistes Telekommunisten et Arts & Economic Group. Il est l’auteur de A Political Economy of the Smallest Things (ATROPOS 2016) et de Digital Materialism (Emerald 2018).

CLÉMENCE SEURAT (FRA)

Clémence Seurat est programmatrice et éditrice, elle investigue en particulier des champs de réflexion et d’action liés à l’écologie politique. Elle a été membre du programme d’expérimentation en art et politique Speap. Elle a co-fondé le collectif COYOTE et la maison d’édition 369. Au sein du médialab de Sciences Po, elle conçoit des programmations et édite des contenus pour FORCCAST.

JULIEN MAUDET (FRA)

Julien Maudet conçoit des jeux de société comme outil de liaison social. Il crée des jeux et des dispositifs ludiques à caractère politique et satirique en s’appuyant sur l’actualité politique et sociale récente.

PAULINE BRIAND (FRA)

Pauline Briand est une journaliste et une autrice spécialiste des enjeux environnementaux. Pour Billebaude, Usbek et Rica ou le Musée national d’histoire naturelle, elle a écrit sur la myxomatose, les forêts et le changement climatique, la disparition des insectes, l’évolution de la vie, et l’anthropologie au-delà de l’humain.

Crédits & mentions

Auteurs :  DISNOVATION.ORG avec Baruch Gottlieb, Clémence Seurat, Julien Maudet & Pauline Briand. 

Production : iMAL
Coproduction : CHRONIQUES, Biennale des Imaginaires Numériques et 3 bis f, lieu d’arts contemporains.

Création réalisée en coproduction avec la plateforme CHRONIQUES, soutenue par la Région Sud, la Ville de Marseille et l’Institut Français à Paris, coordonnée par SECONDE NATURE et ZINC. 

Avec le soutien de : Production Intérieure Brute (Tours), ArTeC (Paris), La Labomedia (Orléans), University of California (Irvine), Université Catholique de Louvain, avec le soutien du CNC (Dicréam).