Modernological Urbanscape

HUNG Wei-Hsuan

Video

As digital technology has developed, virtual reality now enables us to upload consciousness into the space within the viewing device. The question of “Where do I exist?” has been blurred by the technology of “digital twin” that exists in the cloud.

This project focuses on the creation of a digital twin for the spatial perception from reality and virtualization. The interpellation of a spatial site provides a material basis for memory to live on, and the traces and marks left by different time periods in the site offer later observers to read the site from different angles.

Through this project, Huang Wei Hsuan has observed the architectural style of different periods and their varying spatial functions. This aspect differs from the overly rationality that underlies the handling of materials when creating a virtual environment in the sense that he hopes to convey his personal feelings and expand the scope of the audience’s self-driven narratives when experiencing the work.

Practical Information

DATE

From 16 to 19 Dec. 2020

PLACE

Lieu 9, Office de Tourisme, Aix-en-Provence

ACCESS

Parking Rotonde

FREE
on reservation

© Huang Wei Hsuan
© Anpis Wang

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Huang Wei-Hsuan (TWN)

Huang Wei-Hsuan’s works seek to create conversation between audiovisual and projection, aiming to trigger the imagination of audiences. Since 2016 onward, he has started focusing on using digital photography and modeling for the configuration of space that used to exist or only exists in one’s imagination.

The approach allows him to reconstruct the evolving relations between past and present, imagination and reality as well as people and their inhabiting environment. He launched “The Modernological Project of Immersive Elapsing Images” in 2018 to analyze and test the possibility of converting and representing graphic sequences in past motion images as volume and structure. This attempt explores the dialogue between image and space, how routes in past space merge with memory, and physical movement while analyzing the potentiality of representing and re-experiencing the spaces and scenes in various movies.

He was invited to participate in Centquatre Paris, NTMOFA Digital Arts Exhibition, YIRI ARTS Gallery and several other events. His works were presented in National Theater & Concert Hall and featured in various theatre works. He is currently a full-time media creator based in Taipei Taiwan.

Credits & mentions

This project is kindly supported by Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab.

Modernological Urbanscape

HUNG Wei-Hsuan

Vidéo

Avec le développement des technologies digitales, la réalité virtuelle nous offre aujourd’hui l’opportunité de télécharger notre conscience dans un espace donné par un dispositif de visualisation. La question « où vivons-nous ? » se trouve désormais brouillée par la technologie du « jumeau digital » existant dans le cloud.

Ce projet se concentre sur la création d’un jumeau numérique pour la perception spatiale de la réalité et de la virtualisation. L’interpellation d’un espace physique fournit une base matérielle pour que la mémoire s’y déploie, et les traces et marques laissées par les différentes périodes temporelles permettent au spectateur de lire le site plus tard sous de multiples angles.

A travers ce projet, Huang Wei Hsuan s’est plongé dans différents styles d’architecture et leurs fonctions spatiales évolutives. Cette approche se distingue de l’hyper-rationalité qui sous-tend habituellement le travail des matières au moment de la création d’un environnement virtuel ; il espère mettre en partage ses états émotionnels et ainsi, par cette expérience, offrir au spectateur d’élargir le spectre de ses propres narrations.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 14 Nov. au 19 Déc. 2020

LIEU

Lieu 9, Office de Tourisme, Aix-en-Provence

ACCESSIBILITE

Parking Rotonde

GRATUIT
sur réservation

© Huang Wei Hsuan
© Anpis Wang

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Huang Wei-Hsuan (TWN)

La recherche de Huang Wei-Hsuan s’inscrit dans la construction d’un dialogue entre l’audiovisuel et la projection, pour convoquer l’imaginaire des spectateurs. Depuis 2016, il concentre son travail sur la photographie digitale et la modélisation d’espaces habités dans le passé ou n’existant que dans l’imaginaire. Cette approche lui offre la capacité de reconstruire les relations flottantes entre le passé et le présent, l’imagination et la réalité ainsi que les liens entre les personnes et leur environnement résidentiel.

Il a initié en 2018 le projet “Modernologie des images immersives éphémères” afin d’analyser et expérimenter la transformation et la représentation graphique de séquences du passé en mouvement ainsi que les volumes et les structures. Cette recherche explore le dialogue entre image et espace, la manière dont les chemins du passé fusionnent avec la mémoire et le mouvement physique, tout en analysant les potentialités de représentation et de ré-expérimentation des espaces et des lieux par la vidéo.

Ses œuvres ont été présentées au Centquatre Paris, NTMOFA Digital Arts Exhibition, YIRI ARTS Gallery entre autres… Son travail scénographique sera prochainement présenté au National Theater & Concert Hall (Taipei) ainsi que sur d’autres scènes. Il est actuellement créateur multimédia basé à Taipei (Taiwan).

Crédits & mentions

Ce projet est soutenu par Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab.