Millennium Ginseng Project

KU KUANG-YI

Video installation

The consumption of ginseng in Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) is believed to connote the supplement Jing Qi (Chinese 精氣 jing/ essence and qi/vitality) as ginseng grows in a harsh, natural environment and takes the shape of a man’s body.

The conceptualization of “qi” is considered to be consumed more than consumption of the material itself. Long-lived wild ginseng, in particular, is deemed as anti-ageing. Due to the belief system of TCM, people think that wild ginseng is more powerful than its cultivated counterpart.

This has caused illegal harvesting and led to wild ginseng becoming endangered in North America and East Asia. A serious conflict between ‘biodiversity’, contemporary thinking of ecological conservation and the cultural value of traditional Asian medicine arises. The Millennium Ginseng Project aims to find ways to resolve this complicated situation between global modernity and Asian tradition.

Artist Kuang-Yi Ku collaborated with scientists to design a series of new cultivated ginsengs which are conceptually and culturally much stronger than the wild version. This new ginseng will become a ‘hybrid-medicine’ combining western science and TCM. Based on the various applications of science and technology, this project has three parts: ‘Extreme Greenhouse’, ‘Moon Ginseng’ and ‘Time Machine Farm’.

Practical information

DATE

From 16 Dec. 2020 to 17 Jan. 2021

PLACE

Friche La Belle de Mai, Plateau 4, Marseille

ACCESS

Bus 49 et 56, stop Belle de Mai La Friche

© KU Kuang-Yi

Share this event on social networks

Artist

KU Kuang-Yi (TWN)

Kuang-Yi Ku was born and raised in Taipei, Taiwan, and has been based in the Netherlands since 2016. He graduated with triple master degrees in social design from Design Academy Eindhoven; in dentistry from National Yang-Ming University; and in Communication Design from Shih Chien University.

Formerly a dentist, Kuang-Yi Ku is a bio-artist and social designer. He founded TW BioArt (a Taiwan bioart community) to stimulate the fields of BioArt and Science + Art in Taiwan. His works often deal with the human body, sexuality, interspecies interactions, and medical technology, and aim to investigate the relationships among technology, individuals, and the environment.

Kuang-Yi Ku’s “Tiger Penis Project” was awarded the 2018 Gijs Bakker Award, the annual prize for the best project by a graduating master’s student in Design Academy Eindhoven. He also won First Prize in the Taipei Digital Art Awards in 2015 with “The Fellation Modification Project,” in which body modification, gender studies, queer theory, and dentistry all come together.

Credits & mentions

This project is kindly supported by Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab.

Millennium Ginseng Project

KU KUANG-YI

Installation vidéo

En médecine traditionnelle chinoise, la consommation du ginseng stimule le Jing Qi (en mandarin 精氣 jing/essence et qi/vitalité) ; en effet, le ginseng pousse dans des environnements rudes et naturels et sa racine s’apparente à une forme humaine.

Consommer du “qi” surpasse donc la simple ingestion de la racine et il est généralement admis qu’une plante âgée de plusieurs années permet d’augmenter plus encore sa vitalité. Dans la pharmacopée traditionnelle, on attribue une valeur supérieure au ginseng sauvage par rapport à celui cultivé.

Cet intérêt marqué a entraîné la multiplication des récoltes illégales et mis gravement en danger le ginseng sauvage en Amérique du Nord et en Extrême-Orient. En résulte un conflit sérieux entre la ‘biodiversité’ comme approche contemporaine de la conservation écologique et la valeur culturelle traditionnellement admise de la médecine asiatique. L’ambition du Millennium Ginseng Project est d’apporter des solutions permettant de résoudre la complexité de cette situation à cheval entre modernité globalisée et tradition asiatique.

En coopération avec des scientifiques, l’artiste Kuang-Yi KU a conçu plusieurs nouvelles espèces de ginseng de culture dont les effets, tant sur le plan conceptuel que culturel, sont bien plus puissants que l’espèce sauvage. Ce nouveau ginseng se présentera comme un médicament hybride, résultat de l’alliance de la science occidentale et de la médecine traditionnelle chinoise. Reposant sur plusieurs déclinaisons science-technologie, ce projet s’organise en trois expérimentations : ‘la serre de l’extrême’, ‘le ginseng lunaire’ et la ‘ferme à voyager dans le temps’.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 12 Nov. 2020 au 17 Jan. 2021

LIEU

Friche La Belle de Mai, Plateau 4, Marseille

ACCESSIBILITE

Bus 49 et 56, arrêt Belle de Mai La Friche

© KU Kuang-Yi

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

KU Kuang-Yi (TWN)

Kuang-Yi Ku est né et a grandi à Taipei (Taiwan), il est installé aux Pays Bas depuis 2016. Il a mené de front trois maîtrises en design social à la Design Academy d’Eindhoven, en médecine dentaire à la National Yang-Ming University et en communication et design à la Shih Chien University.

Après un début de carrière comme dentiste, Kuang-Yi Ku a choisi de se consacrer une recherche en bio-art et en design social. Il a fondé TW BioArt (communauté en bio-art) afin de stimuler les approches en bio-art et les liens Science + Art à Taiwan. Son travail interroge régulièrement le corps humain, la sexualité, les interactions entre espèces et la technologie médicale. Ses recherches le poussent à creuser les relations entre technologie, individus et environnement.

Son œuvre “Tiger Penis Project” a été primée en 2018 comme Gijs Bakker Award, prix annuel du meilleur projet de maîtrise de la Design Academy d’Eindhoven. Il a également reçu le premier prix de la Taipei Digital Art Awards en 2015 avec “The Fellation Modification Project”, où sont mêlées modifications corporelles, études du genre, théorie queer et médecine dentaire.

Crédits & mentions

Ce projet est soutenu par Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab.