LITHOSYS

ROCIO BERENGUER

Interactive installation

What future for the human species? Far from the catastrophist scenarios carried by the media, Rocio Berenguer imagines a utopia, an interspecies meeting where the different kingdoms of living beings – human, animal, plant, mineral, machine – are invited to negotiate together around the possibilities of their coexistence.

The installation is an inter-species / intra-living communication system to communicate with all the various forms of terrestrial life.

This system is based on the idea of using the Earth’s magnetic field as a system and medium of communication between all lifeforms on Earth. The earth’s magnetosphere is also made of the lithosphere, magnetized rocks on the earth’s crust, among which the main one is called magnetite.

By encoding and recording messages on magnetite, the Lythosys system allows to send information on the Earth’s magnetic network. Each participant is asked to code a message on the stone.

Practical Information

DATE

From 1 Dec. 2020 to 17 Jan. 2021

PLACE

Friche La Belle de Mai, Plateau 4, Marseille

© Rocio Berenguer
© Rocio Berenguer

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Rocio Berenguer (ESP)

Born in 1987 in Spain, Rocio Berenguer has been living in France since 2012 and is interested in the major challenges and changes of our contemporary world – including the evolution of spaces of individual freedom within our society, the place of technology in our daily lives, environmental issues… Her creations are forward-looking fictions that explore the possibility of «another tomorrow». They also implicitly refer to our contemporary neuroses.

For each creation, Rocio begins a work of investigation and dialogue with scientists that generates a text that then matches with other materials, preferring to hybridize different mediums – text, dance, videos, digital art – rather than restrict herself to a single practice. The use of new technologies that are very present in her work is not a fascination but a desire to integrate them into poetic writing while questioning how these technologies, omnipresent in our lives, modify our interpersonal relationships.

In the end, it is the body that is the centre and the point of convergence of her work. The body visited by the social codes of behaviour, the body at the centre of identity, representation and desire issues. The body threatened in its freedom and sovereignty by the arrangements of neocapitalism, the body as territory to be reclaimed.

Credits & mentions

Support:

Hexagone Scène Nationale Arts Sciences – Meylan and Atelier Arts Sciences, Grenoble

Théâtre Nouvelle Génération, National Drama Center, Lyon

Enghien-les-Bains Arts Center, publicly funded “digital writing” performance space 

L’EST, Grenoble

NEMO, International Biennial of Digital Arts, Paris/IDF

LE CENTQUATRE, Paris

AADN – Digital Arts and Culture, Lyon

Scene 44, n + n Corsino, European performance space for choreographic creation and digital innovation, Marseille

Le Cube, Issy les Moulineaux

DICREAM, CNC – National Center for Cinematography and Animated Images

Creation produced in co-production with the CHRONIQUES platform, supported by the South Region, the City of Marseille and the French Institute in Paris, coordinated by SECONDE NATURE and ZINC.

LITHOSYS

ROCIO BERENGUER

Installation interactive

Quel futur pour l’espèce humaine ? Loin des scénarios catastrophistes portés par les médias, Rocio Berenguer imagine une utopie, une réunion interespèces où les différents règnes du vivant – humain, animal, végétal, minéral, machine – sont invités à négocier ensemble les possibilités de leur coexistence.

L’installation est un système de communication inter-espèce/intra-vie pour communiquer avec les différentes formes de vie terrestre. Ce système est basé sur l’idée d’utiliser le champ magnétique terrestre comme système et moyen de communication entre toutes les formes de vie sur Terre.

La magnétosphère terrestre est également constituée de la lithosphère, des roches magnétisées de la croûte terrestre, dont la principale est appelée magnétite. En codant et en enregistrant des messages sur la magnétite, le système Lythosys permet d’envoyer des informations sur le réseau magnétique de la Terre. Chaque participant est invité à coder un message sur la pierre.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 12 Nov. 2020 au 17 Jan. 2021

LIEU

Friche La Belle de Mai, Plateau 4, Marseille

© Rocio Berenguer
© Rocio Berenguer

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Rocio Berenguer (ESP)

Née en 1987 en Espagne, installée en France depuis 2012, Rocio Berenguer s’intéresse aux grands enjeux et mutations de notre monde contemporain – parmi lesquels l’évolution des espaces de liberté individuelle au sein de notre société, la place des technologies dans notre quotidien, les questions d’écologie… Ses créations sont des fictions prospectives qui explorent la possibilité d’un «autre demain». S’y lisent aussi, en creux, nos névroses contemporaines.

Pour chaque création, Rocio entame un travail d’enquête et de dialogue avec des scientifiques qui engendre un texte qu’elle agence ensuite avec d’autres matériaux, préférant hybrider différents médium – texte, danse, vidéos, art numérique – plutôt que de se restreindre à une seule pratique. Le recours aux nouvelles technologies très présent dans son travail ne relève pas d’une fascination mais d’une envie de les intégrer à l’écriture poétique tout en interrogeant la manière dont ces technologies, omniprésentes dans nos vies, modifient nos relations
interpersonnelles.

In fine, c’est bien le corps qui est le centre et le point de convergence de son travail. Le corps traversé par les codes sociaux de comportement, le corps au centre des enjeux d’identité, de représentation, de désir. Le corps menacé dans sa liberté et sa souveraineté par les agencements du néocapitalisme, le corps comme territoire à reconquérir.

Crédits & mentions

Soutiens :
Hexagone Scène Nationale Arts Sciences – Meylan et l’Atelier Arts Sciences, Grenoble
Théâtre Nouvelle Génération, Centre Dramatique Nationale de Lyon
Centre des arts d’Enghien-les-Bains, scène conventionnée “écritures numériques”
L’EST, Grenoble
NEMO, Biennale internationale d’Arts Numériques, Paris/IDF
LE CENTQUATRE, Paris
AADN – Arts et cultures numériques, Lyon
Scène 44, n+n Corsino, Scène européenne de création chorégraphique et innovation numérique, Marseille
Le Cube, Issy les Moulineaux
DICREAM, CNC-Centre National de la Cinématographie et de l’image animée

Création réalisée en coproduction avec la plateforme CHRONIQUES, soutenue par la Région Sud, la Ville de Marseille et l’Institut Français à Paris, coordonnée par SECONDE NATURE et ZINC.