Les Jardins Cybernétiques

DONATIEN AUBERT

Plastic and video installation

Production CHRONIQUES 2020

Technoscientific modernity has disrupted the relationship humans have with life and the environment in which they live. Les jardins cybernétiques installation provides an overview of these disruptions and highlights the consequences for the development of contemporary societies.

The project shows how our mental representations of living things have been transformed by the dissemination of digital technologies in the environment and how, in turn, these technologies play a part in reshaping it.

Les jardins cybernétiques is centered on a short film of computer generated images aiming to reframe these historical issues. It is accompanied by several modules highlighting the growing role of IT in environmental regulation and its imaginary: plant holding chrysalises, made of metal and plexiglass, emit sounds of nature disturbed, in the presence of visitors, by an electronic composition; a greenhouse shaped like a space capsule contains more vegetation; all in the presence of models of plants species (as 3D prints and computer rendered images) that have disappeared since the beginning of the industrial revolution.

Practical information

DATE

From 16 Dec. 2020 to 17 Jan. 2021

PLACE

Friche La Belle de Mai, Plateau 4, Marseille

© Donatien Aubert, Les jardins cybernétiques, creation produced in co-production with the CHRONIQUES platform
© Donatien Aubert, Les jardins cybernétiques, creation produced in co-production with the CHRONIQUES platform

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Donatien Aubert (FRA)

Donatien Aubert is an artist, researcher and author. After completing his main studies at the École Nationale Supérieure d’Arts in Paris-Cergy (DNSEP obtained with the congratulations of the jury in 2014), he was a member of the Spatial Media program of the Laboratory of the École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs (EnsadLab), specializing in the design of interactive, immersive and shared 3D environments. In 2019, he obtained a doctoral degree in comparative literature from the Faculty of Arts and Humanities of Sorbonne University. His thesis, written while at Labex OBVIL, deals with the updating of the arts of memory in the field of human-machine interactions.

The theoretical and plastic work of Donatien Aubert aims to problematize the philosophical, epistemological and political heritage of cybernetic paradigms, and their resilience in movements such as ecology and transhumanism. His first book, Towards a Programmatic Disappearance of Homo Sapiens?, on this theme, was released in June 2017 by Hermann editions.

Donatien Aubert bases his plastic work on research which has led him to work with several laboratories, in particular the Centre de Recherche et de Restauration des Musées de France (C2RMF), EnsadLab, Labex OBVIL and even Assistance Publique – Hôpitaux de Paris. In 2020, he was one of the winners of the French National Center for Visual Arts’ national photographic commission “Image 3.0”, held in partnership with Jeu de Paume.

Credits & mentions

Design, writing and realization of the project: Donatien Aubert
Narrator: Anne-Sophie Bailly
Sound recording: Melodium Studio, Montreuil

Creation produced by CHRONIQUES, Biennale of Digital Imagination, imagined by SECONDE NATURE and ZINC.

Les Jardins Cybernétiques

DONATIEN AUBERT

Installation plastique et vidéo

Production CHRONIQUES 2020

La modernité technoscientifique a bouleversé le rapport qu’entretient l’espèce humaine avec la vie et les milieux dans lesquels elle s’insère. L’installation Les jardins cybernétiques en dresse le panorama et les conséquences pour le développement des sociétés contemporaines.

Le projet donne à voir comment nos représentations mentales du vivant ont été transformées par la dissémination des technologies numériques dans l’environnement et comment celles-ci en retour, contribuent à le remodeler.

Les jardins cybernétiques s’articulent autour d’un court-métrage en images de synthèse œuvrant à resituer ces enjeux historiques. Il est accompagné par plusieurs modules, soulignant le rôle croissant de l’informatique dans la régulation environnementale et ses imaginaires : des chrysalides de métal et de plexiglas, hébergeant des végétaux, diffusent des sons d’espaces naturels, perturbés en présence de visiteurs par une trame électronique ; une serre en forme de capsule spatiale retient d’autres plantes ; l’ensemble est accompagné par des modèles (imprimés en 3D ou rendus en images de synthèse) de végétaux disparus depuis l’avènement de la révolution industrielle. 

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 12 Nov. 2020 au 17 Jan. 2021

LIEU

Friche La Belle de Mai, Plateau 4, Marseille

© Donatien Aubert, Les jardins cybernétiques, une production de CHRONIQUES, Biennale des Imaginaires Numériques.
© Donatien Aubert, Les jardins cybernétiques, une production de CHRONIQUES, Biennale des Imaginaires Numériques.

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Donatien Aubert

Donatien Aubert est artiste, chercheur et auteur. Après avoir accompli ses principales études à l’École Nationale Supérieure d’Arts de Paris-Cergy (DNSEP obtenu avec les félicitations du jury — 2014), il a été membre du programme Spatial Media du Laboratoire de l’École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs (EnsadLab), spécialisé dans la conception d’environnements 3D interactifs, immersifs et partagés. En 2019, il a obtenu un diplôme de doctorat en littérature comparée de la Faculté des Lettres de Sorbonne Université. Sa thèse, écrite au sein du Labex OBVIL, traite de la réactualisation des arts de la mémoire dans le domaine des interactions homme-machine. 

Le travail théorique et plastique de Donatien Aubert vise à problématiser l’héritage philosophique, épistémologique et politique des paradigmes cybernéticiens, et leur résilience dans des mouvements comme l’écologie et le transhumanisme. Son premier livre, Vers une disparition programmatique d’Homo sapiens ?, portant sur ce thème, est sorti en juin 2017 aux éditions Hermann. 

Donatien Aubert appuie son travail plastique sur des recherches qui l’ont amené à travailler avec plusieurs laboratoires, notamment le Centre de Recherche et de Restauration des Musées de France (C2RMF), l’EnsadLab, le Labex OBVIL ou encore l’Assistance Publique — Hôpitaux de Paris. En 2020, il fait partie des lauréats de la commande photographique nationale « Image 3.0 » du Centre national des arts plastiques, en partenariat avec le Jeu de Paume. 

Crédits & mentions

Conception, écriture et réalisation du projet : Donatien Aubert
Narratrice : Anne-Sophie Bailly
Enregistrement sonore : Melodium Studio, Montreuil

Création produite par CHRONIQUES, Biennale des Imaginaires Numériques, imaginée par SECONDE NATURE et ZINC.