le silence des particules

guillaume cousin

Installation

CHRONIQUES Production 2018

This artwork is singular,it does not exist outside its exhibi- tion time; it is a smoke sculpture.

At the bottom of the space an imposing machine renders visible an air movement by forming a ring of smoke that travels through space and time. The spectator is invited to contemplate. Time is writing. The time for which each ring exists is the equivalent of a word. There are the great fragile ones, the small, dense, fleeting ones, the grand ones which move slowly and with ma jesty, Mr.Perfect, the twins, the collisions…These words constitute a sentence that is repeated in a 20-minute cycle, and the machine repeats the instructions precisely to produce the rings, which, in their travels, challenge the randomness of reality.

The silence of the particles invites us to sense the emp- tiness that surrounds us, to widen our circle of perception, to highlight that everything is interaction. We observe millions of particles moving in coherence, forming a body, a body in its own time – and is this why this form feels so familiar to us?

Practical information

DATE

10 nov. – 15 déc. 2018

Share this event on social networks

Artiste

Guillaume Cousin (FRA)

The artist describes himself as an ‘experimental builder’. HelivesandworksinVendée.GuillaumeCousinconducts artistic research in the performing arts as a stage designer and lighting designer. This field has led him to making scenographic work which is often close to the plastic arts.At the same time,he conducts research work related to quantum physics, which takes the form of post-digital installations questioning our perception of matter and time, amidst the immense chains of action and reaction of which our world is made.

MENTIONS AND CREDITS

This artwork is a creation of the Chroniques production and distribution platform.
Coproduction Le Grand R Scène National de la Roche sur Yon, L’experience Harmaat – fabrice LAMBERT.

Distribution : Théâtre National du Liberté – Toulon,Constel- lation numérique – La Roche-sur-Yon, Interstices – Caen

le silence des particules

guillaume cousin

Installation

Production CHRONIQUES 2018

Cette œuvre est singulière, elle n’existe pas en dehors de son temps d’exposition, il s’agit d’une sculpture de fumée.

Au fond de l’espace une imposante machine rend visible un mouvement d’air en formant un anneau de fumée qui voyage dans l’espace et le temps. Le spectateur est invité à contempler. Le temps est l’écriture.L’ensemble des temps qui caractérisent un anneau sont l’équivalent d’un mot. Il y a les grands fragiles, les petits massifs et rapides, les grands lents majestueux, M. Parfait, les jumeaux, les collisions… Ces mots constituent une phrase qui se répéte en un cycle de 20 minutes. La machine répète les instructions minutieusement pour produire les anneaux, qui, dans leurs voyages, se confrontent à la réalité aléatoire.

Le silence des particules nous invite à faire une expé- rience sensorielle du vide qui nous entoure, à élargir notre cercle de perception, à mettre en évidence que tout est interaction. Nous observons des millions de particules en cohérence, formant un corps, un temps. Est-ce en cela que cette forme nous est familière ?

Infos pratiques

DATE

10 nov. – 15 déc. 2018

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Guillaume Cousin (FRA)

L’artiste se décrit comme un “expérimentateur constructeur”. Il vit et travaille en Vendée. Guillaume Cousin mène une recherche artistique dans le spectacle vivant en tant que scénographe et éclairagiste. Ce chemin l’a mené vers un travail de scénographie souvent proche des arts plastiques. Il mène parallèlement un travail de recherche en lien avec la physique quantique, qui prend la forme d’installations post-numériques questionnant notre perception de la matière et du temps, dans l’immensité des interactions dont notre monde est fait.

Crédits & mentions

Cette installation est une création de la plateforme de production et diffusion CHRONIQUES.
Coproduction Le Grand R Scène National de la Roche sur Yon, L’experience Harmaat – fabrice LAMBERT. 

Diffusion : Théâtre National du Liberté – Toulon, Constel- lation numérique – La Roche-sur-Yon, Interstices – Caen