Infection series : Commensalism

CHUANG CHIH-WEI

Plastic artwork

Infection Series : Commensalism is based on the concept of viruses, which infect family members and friends one after another.

Viruses and foreign bacteria quickly multiply throughout the human body. Over time, the body is gradually overtaken. There is nothing that anyone can do but to let this happen, as microbes produce rapidly and conquer territory. From one, they become two, then four, then 16, …replicating exponentially. For such organisms, this may be a primitive method of survival. But, for the infected host, this may mean gradual death.

The way that humans face disease resembles the relationships between the earth and humans and between the environment and technology. This can be likened to two cultures of different sizes and strengths invading and pillaging one another.

Infection Series : Commensalism is a work that features fluorescent lamps and live plants that change as they grow, calling attention to the beautiful and cruel relationship between them. There is life on one side and death on the other.

Practical information

DATE

From 16 Dec. 2020 to 17 Jan. 2021

PLACE

Friche La Belle de Mai, Plateau 4, Marseille

ACCESS

Bus 49 et 56, stop Belle de Mai La Friche

© Chuang Chih-Wei

Share this event on social networks

Artist

CHUANG Chih-Wei (TWN)

Born in Taichung, Taiwan in 1986, CHUANG Chih-Wei holds an M.S. in Science in Architecture from National Chiao Tung University and an MFA in New Media Arts from Taipei National University of the Arts. With the training in fine arts and architecture, CHUANG excels in creating interactive installations with light and space, which address the relationship between human beings and the environment. Exploring possibilities in cross-disciplinary methodology with an aesthetics that emphasizes both rationality and sensibility has always been a central feature to his works.

CHUANG was selected for the artist-in-residence program at Tokyo Wonder Site in 2014 and the National Taichung Theater in 2019-2020. He was one of the artists showcased in “Made in Taiwan- Young Artist Discovery” by the Ministry of Culture in 2016. He was awarded an Honorable Mention in Taipei Arts Award and was one of the artists selected to take part at Digital Art Festival Taipei in 2015; in addition, he has also been invited to the PyeongChang Biennale, East-Asian Contemporary Art Exhibition “Botanica” (Busan), Taiwan Biennial(Taichung) and Roppongi Art Night (Tokyo). He is currently a lecturer in the Department of New Media Art of Taipei National University of the Arts.

Credits & mentions

This project is kindly supported by Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab.

Infection series : Commensalism

CHUANG CHIH-WEI

Installation plastique

La pièce Infection Series : Commensalism s’inspire du concept des virus, qui se disséminent d’un individu à l’autre au sein des familles ou des groupes d’amis.

Les virus et les bactéries externes peuvent ainsi rapidement se développer au sein des corps humains. Au fil des heures, l’organisme se trouve progressivement submergé. Nul ne peut rien faire et les microbes conquièrent rapidement tout un territoire. D’un, ils deviennent deux, puis quatre, puis 16… et se répliquent exponentiellement. Pour ces organismes, cette attitude doit certainement correspondre à un mode primitif de survie. Mais pour l’organisme infecté, elle annonce une marche lente vers la mort.

La réaction des humains face à la maladie s’apparente aux modes de relations nouées entre la terre et l’homme ou entre l’environnement et la technologie. Ou encore à deux cultures de taille et de poids différents, s’infiltrant et se pillant mutuellement.

Infection Series : Commensalism est une oeuvre qui réunit lampes fluorescentes et plantes vivantes, qui évoluent au fur et à mesure de leur croissance, marquées par la beauté et la cruauté de leur relation. Vie côté pile, mort côté face.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 12 Nov. 2020 au 17 Jan. 2021

LIEU

Friche La Belle de Mai, Plateau 4, Marseille

ACCESSIBILITE

Bus 49 et 56, arrêt Belle de Mai La Friche

© Chuang Chih-Wei

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

CHUANG Chih-Wei (TWN)

Né à Taichung, Taiwan en 1986, CHUANG Chih-Wei est diplômé en architecture (Université nationale Chiao Tung) et en art et nouveaux médias (Université nationale des arts de Taipei). Cette double formation permet à l’artiste de créer des installations interactives, incluant la lumière et l’espace, qui questionnent les relations de l’homme à son environnement. Son travail se caractérise principalement par des pratiques interdisciplinaires, mêlant esthétique, rationalité et sensibilité.

CHUANG Chih-Wei a été artiste en résidence en 2014 au Tokyo Wonder et au Théâtre national de Taichung en 2019-2020. Il a également été sélectionné en 2016 pour participer au programme ‘Made in Taiwan- Young Artist Discovery » du Ministère de la Culture de Taiwan. Primé aux Taipei Arts Award en 2015, son travail a été présenté au Digital Art Festival Taipei ; il a également exposé ses oeuvres à la Biennale de PyeongChang, à la East-Asian Contemporary Art Exhibition “Botanica” (Busan), à Taiwan Biennial (Taichung) et dans les Nuits de Roppongi Art (Tokyo). Il intervient actuellement au département Nouveaux médias de l’Université nationale des arts de Taipei.

Crédits & mentions

Ce projet est soutenu par Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab.