Howto

Élisabeth Caravella

Video

Howto is a video tutorial in which her creator learns us how to make a 3D text. But quickly, her undertaking get complicated, the software become out of control, she discovers that she is no more alone.

Practical Information

DATE

From 16 Dec. 2020 to 7 Mar. 2021

PLACE

21 Bis Mirabeau
Espace Culturel Départemental
, Aix-en-Provence

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Elisabeth Caravella (FRA)

Élisabeth Caravella is a French artist and filmmaker who lives and works in Paris. Self-taught, she interests from her adolescence by video, net art and computer graphics. A graduate of the European School of Image, Arts Décoratifs in Paris and Fresnoy, her work, inspired by cybernetic culture, is boundary between contemporary art and cinema.

In exhibition or in festival (Shanghai Pearl Museum, La Géode, Festival Premiers Plans, Festival Indielisboa, Palais de Tokyo, Liste Art Faire Basel, CENTQUATRE, Gaité Lyrique, etc.), she makes video installations as well as experimental fictions carried by perform reinterpretations of codes and hybridity of genres such as Anonymous phone call (2009) a “photoshop film”, A story without drama (2012) a documentary fiction, Howto (2014) a cinematographic tutorial several rewarded or Krisis (2019), machinima at the mark between FPS and virtual reality.

In 2019, Elisabeth participates in the cyber-feminist exhibition Computer Grrrls and adapted Howto in an immersive installation.

Credits & mentions

Production : Le Fresnoy, Studio National des arts contemporains
Partner : Avec le soutien de la fondation d’entreprise Hermès
Direction : Elisabeth Caravella
Motion capture : Studio Mocapab
Choregraphy : Aina Alegre
Voice : Elisabeth Caravella
Pictures and editing : Elisabeth Caravella
Editing et sound mix : Thomas Fourrel

Howto

Élisabeth Caravella

Vidéo

Howto est un tutoriel cinématographique dans lequel sa créatrice nous apprend à réaliser un texte en 3D. Mais très vite son exercice se complique, le logiciel devient incontrôlable, elle découvre alors qu’elle n’est plus seule.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 11 Nov. 2020 au 17 Jan. 2021

LIEU

21 Bis Mirabeau
Espace Culturel Départemental
, Aix-en-Provence

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Elisabeth Caravella (FRA)

Élisabeth Caravella est une artiste et cinéaste française qui vit et travaille à Paris. De nature autodidacte, elle s’initie dès l’adolescence à la vidéo, au net art et à l’image de synthèse. Diplômée de L’École Européenne Supérieure de l’Image, des Arts Décoratifs de Paris et du Fresnoy, son travail, inspiré par la culture cybernétique, est à la frontière entre art contemporain et cinéma.

En exposition ou en festival (Shangaï Pearl Museum, La Géode, Festival Premiers Plans, Festival Indielisboa, Palais de Tokyo, Liste Art Faire Basel, CENTQUATRE, Gaité Lyrique, etc.), elle réalise des installations vidéo ainsi que des fictions expérimentales portées par le détournement et l’hybridité des genres telles que Coup de fil anonyme (2009) un « film photoshop », Une pâte brisée, une histoire sans drame (2012) une fiction documentaire, Howto (2014) un tutoriel cinématographique récompensé en festival ou encore Krisis (2019), une machinima à la frontière entre FPS et réalité virtuelle.

En 2019, Elisabeth participe à l’exposition itinérante cyber-féministe Computer Grrrls et adapte Howto en installation immersive.

Crédits & mentions

Production : Le Fresnoy, Studio National des arts contemporains
Partenaire : Avec le soutien de la fondation d’entreprise Hermès
Réalisation : Elisabeth Caravella
Motion capture : Studio Mocapab
Chorégraphie : Aina Alegre
Voix : Elisabeth Caravella
Images et montage : Elisabeth Caravella
Montage et mixage son : Thomas Fourrel