ungrave

Thierry Fournier

Installation

Placed on the ground, a very large screen diffuses the image of a tombstone whose inscription is constantly being rewritten, as if it were still alive: its first name, dates and epitaph are modified, erased and then rewritten, often very quickly.

While the dead are those who, by definition, never respond anymore, Ungrave establishes the fiction of a zombie death, whose technology would have perverted the very principle and which would continue to bug ad vitam æternam, constantly questioning its existence and the best way to sum it up. The project evokes ironically the transhumanist ideology of an unlimited rewriting of life, where everything would still be possible, even after death. It is also a vision of hell, where traditionally the souls continue to wander and act, without never being able to get this over with or finding peace.

The name on the tombstone is alternatively John or Jane Doe. The date of death varies constantly, but the date of birth is always 2020, evoking a person who is somehow already promised to a “becoming-program”, in the Deleuzian sense of the term.

Practical Information

DATE

From 16 Dec. 2020 to 7 Mar. 2021

PLACE

21 Bis Mirabeau
Espace Culturel Départemental
, Aix-en-Provence

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Thierry Fournier (FRA)

Thierry Fournier’s work extends to the frontiers of the living to address questions of otherness, in the broadest sense: installations, objects, networked pieces, websites, videos, prints, performances. He is also an independent curator, editor and teacher. An architect by training (a graduate of the École nationale supérieure d’Architecture de Lyon), he was born in Lyon in 1960. He lives and works in the Paris area.

Recent solo shows include University of Montpellier III in 2020 and 2019, Aperto Montpellier 2020, CAPA Aubervilliers 2018, Villa Henry Nice 2018, Musée d’art et d’histoire de Saint-Denis 2017, Lux Scène nationale de Valence 2015.

Thierry Fournier teaches at Sciences Po Paris and is also artistic director of the antiAtlas Journal. He was a guest artist-professor at Le Fresnoy, Studio national des arts contemporains, in 2017-2018.

Credits & mentions

Produced by Thierry Fournier with the support of CHRONIQUES, Biennale of Digital Imagination.

grave

Thierry Fournier

Installation

Posée au sol, la dalle dénudée d’un grand écran affiche l’image d’une pierre tombale qui ne cesse de se réécrire, comme si elle était restée vivante. Son prénom, ses dates et son épitaphe se modifient en permanence, s’effacent et se réécrivent, parfois très vite.

Alors que les morts sont ceux qui, par définition, ne répondent plus jamais, Grave instaure la fiction d’une mort zombie, dont la technologie aurait perverti jusqu’au principe même et qui continuerait à bugger ad vitam æternam, s’interrogeant sans cesse sur son existence et la meilleure manière de la résumer. Le projet évoque ironiquement l’idéologie transhumaniste d’une réécriture illimitée de la vie, où tout serait toujours possible, y compris après la mort. C’est aussi une vision de l’enfer, là où traditionnellement les âmes continuent d’errer et d’agir, sans jamais en finir ni trouver la paix.

Le nom qui figure sur la pierre tombale est John ou Jane Doe, utilisé dans les pays anglophones pour les personnes inhumées inconnues. Ici, la date du décès varie constamment, mais la date de naissance est toujours 2020, évoquant une personne déjà promise à un « devenir-programme », au sens deleuzien du terme.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 11 Nov. 2020 au 17 Jan. 2021

LIEU

21 Bis Mirabeau
Espace Culturel Départemental
, Aix-en-Provence

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Thierry Fournier (FRA)

La pratique de Thierry Fournier travaille aux frontières du vivant pour aborder des questions d’altérité, au sens large : installations, objets, pièces en réseau, sites web, vidéos, prints, performances. Il est également commissaire d’exposition indépendant, éditeur et enseignant. Architecte de formation (diplômé de l’École nationale supérieure d’Architecture de Lyon), il est né à Lyon en 1960. Il vit et travaille à Aubervilliers.

Expositions personnelles récentes : Université de Montpellier III 2020 et 2019, Aperto 2020, CAPA Aubervilliers 2018, Villa Henry Nice 2018, Musée d’art et d’histoire de Saint-Denis 2017, Lux Scène nationale de Valence 2015, 2013 et 2009, Kawenga Montpellier 2009…

Thierry Fournier a été artiste-professeur invité au Fresnoy, Studio national des arts contemporains, en 2017-2018. Il enseigne à Sciences Po Paris. Il est également directeur artistique de la revue antiAtlas Journal.

Crédits & mentions

Production : Thierry Fournier, avec le soutien de CHRONIQUES, Biennale des Imaginaires Numériques.