Future Shock

SU Hui-yu

Video installation

In 1970, American futurist Alvin Toffler’s iconic work Future Shock was published. One year later, a translation by Zhiwen Publishing House hit the market in Taiwan, thus introducing the writer’s theories to readers of Chinese.

The premise of the book can be summed up as: “A future that comes too quickly creates more apprehension than that of a foreign land. Future society will be stricken with a plethora of choices, throw-away society, information overload, and unethical technology.”

The work Future Shock was inspired by Toffler’s original, from which the artist adapted and developed Toffler’s theories. The artist decided to shoot the film in the southern city of Kaohsiung for its industrial facilities, modernist architecture, power plants, commercial institutions, and deserted amusement parks, which were driven by economic policies in the 1970s, but today evoke feelings of strangeness and nostalgia for the city’s golden age.

This past which felt so futuristic 50 years ago is now both confusing and familiar. Future Shock leads audience members to revisit retro Kaohsiung from a contemporary perspective and look back as if in a dream at the influence of “modern” and “future” when they were completely new concepts in Asia.

Practical information

DATE

From 16 Dec. 2020 to 17 Jan. 2021

PLACE

Friche La Belle de Mai, Plateau 4, Marseille

ACCESS

Bus 49 et 56, stop Belle de Mai La Friche

© SU Hui-Yu – Courtesy of Double Square Gallery (Taipei) 

Share this event on social networks

Artist

SU Hui-Yu (TWN)

Su Hui-Yu obtained an MFA from Taipei National University of the Arts in 2003, and has remained active in the contemporary art scene ever since. Su is fascinated by the intricate tapestry interwoven by images, media, history, and daily life. In his videos, he explores both mass media’s impact on viewers, and the projection of viewers’ thoughts and desires onto media. Recently, Su’s interest in old books, from which he re-reads, revises, and appropriates texts for his work, has led him to a new understanding of physicality, existence, and history.

His work has been exhibited at the Taipei Fine Arts Museum, National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts, MOCA Taipei, Double Square Gallery, Tina Keng Gallery, Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts, San Jose Museum of Art in California, Herbert F. Johnson Museum at Cornell University, Kunstmuseum Bonn, Casino Luxembourg and Power Station of Art in Shanghai. In 2017, International Film Festival Rotterdam dedicated a retrospective to Su’s video works, while his video piece Super Taboo had its world premiere in the Tiger Awards Competition for Short Films. Su returns to the Tiger Short Competition in 2019 with The Glamorous Boys of Tang. Su has been awarded the Asian Cultural Council Fellowship Award and participated in a residency program in New York City in 2009. In 2019, Su wins the 17th Taishin Arts Award- Visual Art Award. In addition, his latest production Future Shock is award by Kaohsiung Short Award and exhibited in Art WuZhen in China.

Credits & mentions

This project is kindly supported by Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab.
The production is sponsored by Kaohsiung Film Archive and National Culture and Arts Foundation.

Production team: 
Producer: Huang Jing-Han and Kuo Yi-Hsuan 
1st Assistant Director: Liu Yueh-Min 
Cameratographer: Chen Kuan-Yu 
Art director: Liao Yin-Chiao and Su Hui-Yu 
Custome Designer: Huang Jing-Han 
Music: Su Hui-Yu 

Cast: 
Craig Quintero 
Liao Fu-Chi 
Popcorn 
Ethan Wang 
Liu Yueh-Min 
Jovi Lee 
Hsing Feng 
Liang Feng 
Kaiti Shan 
Yunuo Lin 
Su Hui-Yu

Future Shock

SU Hui-yu

Installation vidéo

En 1970, le futurologue américain Alvin Toffler publie son œuvre majeure Future Shock. Dès l’année suivante, les lecteurs sinophones s’initient aux théories de l’auteur dans sa traduction, éditée par Zhiwen Publishing House pour le marché taiwanais.

L’auteur résume ainsi sa pensée : “des changements trop rapides créent un stress bien supérieur à celui lié à la découverte d’un territoire étranger. La société du futur sera marquée par une avalanche de possibles, du tout-jetable, de la surcharge informative et de technologies non-éthiques.”

L’œuvre Future Shock trouve sa source dans celle originelle de Toffler, développée et adaptée par l’artiste sur la base des théories de l’auteur. SU Hui-Yu a choisi de tourner dans la ville industrielle de Kaohsiung, au sud de Taiwan, dans une architecture moderniste, campée d’implantations industrielles, d’établissements commerciaux et de parcs d’attraction abandonnés, issus des politiques de développement économique des années 1970, et aujourd’hui emplis d’une étrangeté et d’une nostalgie rappelant l’âge d’or de la ville.

Ce passé, perçu comme novateur il y a 50 ans, nous entraîne aujourd’hui dans un sentiment perturbant et familier à la fois. L’œuvre Future Shock emmène le visiteur dans une visite rétro de Kaohsiung sous une perspective contemporaine et réinterroge tel un rêve, les concepts de “modernité” et de “futur” alors complètement inédits en Asie.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 12 Nov. 2020 au 17 Jan. 2021

LIEU

Friche La Belle de Mai, Plateau 4, Marseille

ACCESSIBILITE

Bus 49 et 56, arrêt Belle de Mai La Friche

© SU Hui-Yu – Avec l’aimable autorisation de la Double Square Gallery (Taipei)  

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

SU Hui-Yu (TWN)

Su Hui-Yu obtient une maîtrise en art en 2003 à la Taipei National University of the Arts et évolue depuis dans la scène contemporaine. L’artiste se fascine pour la fresque complexe qui se trame entre images, médias, histoire et vie quotidienne. Dans ses vidéos, il explore tout à la fois l’impact des médias de masse sur les spectateurs ainsi que les projections des réflexions et désirs de ces spectateurs sur les médias eux-mêmes. Il s’est récemment penché sur des livres anciens, qu’il relit, revisite et dont il s’approprie les textes, dans une perspective renouvelée de la physicalité, de l’existence et de l’histoire.

Ses oeuvres ont été présentées à de multiples occasions au Taipei Fine Arts Museum, National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts, MOCA Taipei, Double Square Gallery, Tina Keng Gallery, Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts, San Jose Museum of Art in California, Herbert F. Johnson Museum at Cornell University, Kunstmuseum Bonn, Casino Luxembourg et à la Power Station of Art de Shanghai. En 2017, une rétrospective de son travail est exposée au festival international de film de Rotterdam, et sa pièce Super Taboo, créée pour l’occasion, est sélectionnée en catégorie court-métrage pour le Tigre d’or. En 2019, The Glamorous Boys of Tang est à nouveau sélectionné pour le Tigre d’or. SU a été décoré par le Asian Cultural Council Fellowship Award et a ainsi bénéficié d’une résidence de création à New York en 2009. En 2019, il reçoit le prix de la 17ème édition de la Taishin Arts Award en art visuel. Sa dernière oeuvre, Future Shock, est recompensée par le festival de court-métrages de Kaohsiung et présentée à Art WuZhen en Chine.

Crédits & mentions

Ce projet est soutenu par Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab.
Production soutenue par le Kaohsiung Film Archive et la Fondation nationale des Arts (Taiwan).

Equipe de Production :
Huang Jing-Han et Kuo Yi-Hsuan 
Premier assistant : Liu Yueh-Min 
Cameramen : Chen Kuan-Yu 
Direction artistique : Liao Yin-Chiao et Su Hui-Yu 
Costumes : Huang Jing-Han 
Music : Su Hui-Yu 

Distribution :
Craig Quintero 
Liao Fu-Chi 
Popcorn 
Ethan Wang 
Liu Yueh-Min 
Jovi Lee 
Hsing Feng 
Liang Feng 
Kaiti Shan 
Yunuo Lin 
Su Hui-Yu