Energeia

UGO ARSAC

Immersive documentary

E N E RG E I A is an invitation to meditate on the world’s energy transitions – those currently underway and those to come. Within a digital environment, visitors are plunged inside nuclear power station architecture.

The audience are invited into a small space or to don a virtual reality headset. Here, they have access to an experience that simultaneously evokes a scattergram aesthetic and is akin to a documentary, owing to its audio features. The idea is not to sway the audience’s opinions; rather to maintain an open dialogue regarding energy-related issues.

© Ugo Arsac
© Ugo Arsac

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Ugo Arsac

Ugo Arsac is a French artist and documentarian. He studied at the Beaux-Arts de Paris and the École des Arts Décoratifs de Paris, where he displayed his videographic approach by producing his first films: Neuf Cordes (Nine Strings), filmed between Italy and Ukraine, a mix of performance and spoken poetry; and Jouons à la Guerre (Let’s Play War), filmed in the ranks of a re-enactment society in Taiwan, a documentary imbued with derision towards the global and local conflicts the island has faced. He later won the La Scam Emerging Artist Prize before joining the Le Fresnoy National Studio of the Contemporary Arts. There, he produced En Contrebas (Underneath), a documentary portrayal of and a Dantean journey through the entrails of Paris, and In Urbe, an interactive installation allowing the audience to conduct their own subterranean journey.

He has completed several residencies, at Centquatre, Ardenôme and the Fruitière Numérique, and has featured in numerous exhibitions (100% l’Expo, Orpheo, Panorama22, Mulhouse021, Tout s’éclaire, the Institut Français in Ukraine’s Digital November). He is conducting new XR projects thanks to support from CHRONIQUES and C2L3play, an Interreg programme promoting artistic innovation. He also works with the Galerie Robert Dantec, where his drawings and serigraphs have been shown at exhibitions such as Points of View and DDessin.

Credits & mentions

Delegated production: SECONDE NATURE et ZINC

Creation realized in coproduction with the platform CHRONIQUES CREATIONS, supported by the DRAC Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, the Région Sud Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, the City of Marseille and the French Institute in Paris. Coproduction: La Fruitière Numérique. Support: Perspective[s], CITS. Partnership: Next Sound Lab, EDF.

Energeia

UGO ARSAC

Documentaire immersif

E N Ē R G E I A invite à se questionner sur les transitions énergétiques du monde actuel et celui de demain. Dans cet environnement numérique, le visiteur est plongé dans des architectures issues de centrales nucléaires.

Le public est convié à pénétrer dans un petit espace ou à endosser un casque de réalité virtuelle. Dans ce lieu, il a accès simultanément à une expérience esthétique en nuage de points et documentaire via des interventions sonores. L’idée n’est pas d’orienter les opinions du spectateur, mais de garder un dialogue ouvert sur les questions énergétiques.

© Ugo Arsac
© Ugo Arsac

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Ugo Arsac (FRA)

Ugo Arsac est un artiste et documentariste français. Il fait ses études aux Beaux-Arts et aux Arts-Décoratifs à Paris. Ainsi il affirme sa pratique de vidéaste en produisant ses premiers films : Neuf Cordes tourné entre l’Italie et l’Ukraine, entre poésie orale et performance, Jouons à la Guerre tourné à Taiwan au sein d’un groupe de Reenactement, un documentaire empreint de dérision sur les conflits mondiaux et locaux de l’île. Il reçoit ensuite le Prix Émergence de La Scam avant d!intégrer Le Fresnoy – Studio national des arts contemporains. Il y réalise En Contrebas un portrait documentaire et un voyage dantesque dans les entrailles de Paris, ainsi que In urbe, une installation interactive proposant au public de faire son propre voyage souterrain.

Il est accueilli en résidence aux Centquatre, à l’Ardenôme, ou à la Fruitière numérique et participe à de multiples expositions (100% l’Expo, Orpheo, Panorama22, Mulhouse021, Tout s’éclaire, Novembre numérique de l’Institut français d’Ukraine). Il développe de nouveaux projets XR grâce au soutien de CHRONIQUES et C2L3play, un programme Interreg pour l’innovation artistique. Il est aussi en lien avec la Galerie Robert Dantec qui expose ses dessins et sérigraphies à l’occasion d’expositions telles que Points de Vue ou DDessin.

Crédits & mentions

Production déléguée : SECONDE NATURE et ZINC

Création réalisée avec la plateforme CHRONIQUES CRÉATIONS, soutenue par la DRAC Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, la Région Sud Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, la ville de Marseille et l’Institut Français à Paris. En coproduction avec La Fruitière Numérique. Avec le soutien de Perspective[s] et CITS. En partenariat avec Next Sound Lab et EDF.