Discharge what you charged

CHENG Hsien-Yu

Installation

The installation creates a few minutes of peaceful time to isolate the audience from mobile phones, which have become an essential gadget of everyday life.

This work is an electric mechanical cube. There is a mechanical structure above the square pillar, and the lid is usually open. When the audience come near the work, the work will display text that invites the audience to place their mobile phones on the platform.

After the audience place their mobile phones on the platform, the lid will close and it will remain locked. During the desired time, the device will discharge the audience’s mobile phones until the batteries are almost empty. The lid will then open and give an alarm sound to notify the audience, reminding them to retrieve their phones.

On average, a person spends more than 4 hours a day watching, listening and using a smartphone, and people are growingly attached to their phones. This work attempts to invite or force the audience to briefly part ways with their daily essential, with the mobile phones.

Practical Information

DATE

From 7 Jan. to 7 Mar. 2021

PLACE

21 Bis Mirabeau
Espace Culturel Départemental
, Aix-en-Provence

Share this event on social networks

Artist

CHENG Hsien-Yu (TWN)

Born in Kaohsiung, Taiwan, in 1984. Currently an artist & software developer based in Taipei.

Most of Cheng’s works are electronic installations, software, and experimental bioelectronics devices. His works explore the relationship between human behavior, emotion, software and machine.

He tries to bring out the meaning of life through his works that are filled with his own observation and feelings toward society & environment in a humorous way. Currently, he is focusing on the fields of biology, electronics, software, and making tools for creative industrial applications.

Cheng has been selected by Dutch Young Talent, and won First Prize of Taipei Digital Art Award, Quality Award of New Media of Kaohsiung Art Award, and Tung Chung Art Award.

 

Credits & mentions

This project is kindly supported by Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab.

Discharge what you charged

CHENG Hsien-Yu

Installation

L’installation offre au participant quelques minutes de sérénité, sans téléphone portable devenu un accessoire essentiel dans notre vie quotidienne.

Cette œuvre s’apparente à un cube mécanique électrifié. Sur un pied carré se trouve une structure mécanique, dont le couvercle est généralement ouvert. Quand le public s’approche de l’installation, un message d’annonce l’invite à y déposer son téléphone portable.

Le couvercle se referme alors. Pendant le temps souhaité, le système parcourt le téléphone portable jusqu’à l’utilisation presque complète de sa batterie. C’est alors que le couvercle se ré-ouvre et diffuse une alarme pour indiquer possibilité de récupération des téléphones personnels.

En moyenne, nous passons tous aujourd’hui plus de 4 heures sur nos téléphones portables à regarder, écouter, ou en faire des usages variés et nous y sommes devenus complètement attachés. Cette œuvre cherche à nous inviter, ou à nous obliger !, à nous en libérer brièvement, une échappée hors du quotidien, hors de notre téléphone.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 11 Nov. 2020 au 17 Jan. 2021

LIEU

21 Bis Mirabeau
Espace Culturel Départemental
, Aix-en-Provence

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

CHENG Hsien-Yu (TWN)

Né à Kaohsiung, Taiwan, en 1984. Artiste et développeur informatique basé à Taipei.

La grande majorité des œuvres de Cheng Hsien-Yu sont des installations expérimentales liées à l’électronique, l’informatique et la bioélectronique. Il y explore les relations qui se nouent entre le comportement humain, l’émotion, le logiciel et la machine.

Dans ses œuvres, l’artiste cherche à exprimer le sens de la vie, par le prisme souvent humoristique de ses propres observations et ressentis tant sociaux qu’environnementaux.

Il se concentre actuellement plus particulièrement sur les champs de la biologie, de l’électronique, du logiciel et travaille sur la création d’outils d’applications créatives industrielles. Chueng Hsien-Yu a été sélectionné par Dutch Young Talent et a gagné plusieurs distinctions – 1er prix du Taipei Digital Art Award, Prix nouveau média de Kaohsiung Art Award, et Tung Chung Art Award.

Crédits & mentions

Ce projet est soutenu par Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab