DARWIN DARWAH

ARASH NASSIRI

Video Installation

CHRONIQUES Production 2018

In this video, Arash Nassiri questions our beliefs about the origin of civilizations by staging the conspiracy theories that flourish on the web.

He films the remains of the Parisian catacombs through a long corridor; we see sarcophagi, pterodactyl skeletons, and other anachronistic and in- comprehensible images. The scene is dark and bathed in a green halo, and the long, slow camera movement reinforces this disturbing and inhuman atmosphere.A man with a deep voice tells us about the supposed construction of the city of Paris.


Nevertheless, this video is a complete construction, made using 3D scanning, a tool appreciated in archaeology, but used here for its inverse purpose. The objects that we see have been digitised from the collections of the museums of Paris, such as the Museum of Paleontology and the Louvre. Here, the artist deprives them of their aesthetic functions,of their stories,to return them to a context which masquerades as archaeological.

Infos pratiques

DATE

08 nov. 2018 – 06 janv. 2019

Share this event on social networks

Artiste

Arash Nassiri (FRA-IRN)

Arash Nassiri is a Franco-Iranian artist born in Tehran in 1986. He lives and works in Paris. After a stint at the Beaux-Arts in Paris, an exchange in Berlin to study the relationship between art and technology, and a career at the Arts-Décoratifs in Paris in the study of photography andvideo,hefinishedhisstudiesattheprestigiousFres- noy de Tourcoing. Arash Nassiri uses places as frames to produce his work,in the manner of Land Art.These places can be very specific: a ruined building, or an entire city as in the TEHERAN-GELES video, where Los Angeles is used as a representation of Tehran.

MENTIONS AND CREDITS

This artwork is a creation of the Chroniques production and distribution platform.
Realised with the support from DICREAM – CNC Co-production,Edis – Fonds de Dotation,FRAC Provence- Alpes-Côte d’Azur

Production : Jonas Films
Distribution : CPH:DOX – Copenhague, Visions du réel – Nyon

DARWIN DARWAH

ARASH NASSIRI

Installation vidéo

Production CHRONIQUES 2018

Dans cette vidéo, Arash Nassiri interroge nos croyances quant à l’origine des civilisations en mettant en scène les théories du complot qui fleurissent sur la toile.

Il filme les vestiges des catacombes parisiennes à travers un long couloir, on observe des sarcophages, des squelettes de ptérodactyles et autres anachronismes et incompréhensions. L’image est sombre et baignée d’un halo vert, et le plan-séquence utilisé renforce ce côté inquiétant et inhumain. Un homme à la voix grave nous raconte la supposée construction de la ville de Paris.

Néanmoins, cette vidéo est un montage complet, réalisé grâce au scan 3D, outil apprécié par les archéologues, et utilisé ici à contre-emploi.

Les objets que l’on aperçoit ont été numérisés depuis les collections des musées de Paris, comme le musée de Paléontologie ou le musée du Louvre. Ici, l’artiste les prive de leurs fonctions esthétiques, de leurs histoires, pour les replacer dans un contexte qu’il veut prétendre archéologique.

Infos pratiques

DATE

08 nov. 2018 – 06 janv. 2019

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Arash Nassiri (FRA-IRN)

Arash Nassiri est un artiste franco-iranien né à Téhéran en 1986. Il vit et travaille à Paris. Après un passage aux Beaux-Arts de Paris, un échange à Berlin pour étudier la relation entre art et technologie, et une carrière aux Arts-Décoratifs à Paris pour étudier la photographie et la vidéo, il termine ses études au prestigieux Fresnoy de Tourcoing. Arash Nassiri utilise des lieux comme cadres pour produire son travail, à la manière du Land Art. Ces lieux peuvent être très spécifiques, comme un bâtiment en ruine, ou une ville entière comme dans la vidéo TEHERAN-GELES, où Los Angeles est utilisée comme représentation de Téhéran.

Crédits & mentions

Cette vidéo est une création de la plateforme de produc- tion et diffusion CHRONIQUES.
Réalisé avec le soutien du DICREAM – CNC Coproduction, Edis – Fonds de Dotation, FRAC Provence- Alpes-Côte d’Azur

Production : Jonas Films
Diffusion : CPH:DOX – Copenhague,Visions du réel – Nyon