AL AMAKINE

ABDESSAMAD EL MONTASSIR

Photographic and sound installation

Production CHRONIQUES 2020

In Al Amakine, Abdessamad El Montassir uncovers micro-histories and non-material archives of the South-Moroccan Sahara that have been invisiblized by official history.

These stories recount political, cultural and social events inherent to the South-Moroccan Sahara. They are transmitted orally – and poetically – by local populations, and are disappearing from the official narrative because they have not been set down in a documentary form. This immaterial knowledge, however, constitutes crucial historiographical material for this seemingly empty geographical area.

Using a photographic installation and a sound piece, Al Amakine opens up an unprecedented interstice that highlights these micro-stories from the South-Moroccan Sahara, thus filling the silence and emptiness projected onto the region. The project invites the viewer to listen to these silent voices and to shift the focus to think differently about these geographic places which are neither located on maps nor in official history.

Practical Information

DATE

To 5 déc. 2020

PLACE

Les Méjanes – Michel Vovelle – Patrimoine et archives municipales, Aix-en-Provence

ACCESS

Near Art’s Forum and Méjanes Bibliothèque

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Abdessamad El Montassir (MAR)

Abdessamad El Montassir was born in 1989. He lives and works in Boujdour, Rabat and Marseille. His research focuses on three main themes: the right to oblivion, fictional and visceral narratives, and the trauma of anticipation.

Reflexive processes are used throughout his work and research, encouraging viewers to rethink history and cartography through collective or fictional narratives and non-material archives. Simultaneously, his projects question trauma and its influence on individuals, their behaviour and socio-political evolutions; while deploying processes where trauma is used as a basis for historicization.

Abdessamad El Montassir approaches these issues by taking into account knowledge of non-human identities – plants and visceral narratives – in order to produce new ways of thinking about our environment.

Credits & mentions

Creation produced in co-production with Le Cube – independent art room, Carte Blanche by Al Safar, Institut Français du Maroc, IMéRA with the support from Labex RFIEA+, gmem-CNCM-Marseille and the CHRONIQUES platform, supported by the South Region, the City of Marseille and the French Institute in Paris, coordinated by SECONDE NATURE and ZINC.

Executive producer: Le Cube – independent art room.

Sound creation in collaboration with Matthieu Guillin, composer.

Implementation: Société Lumière and Atelier Deuxième Oeil

AL AMAKINE

ABDESSAMAD EL MONTASSIR

Installation photographique et sonore

Production CHRONIQUES 2020

Pour Al Amakine, Abdessamad El Montassir ravive les micro-histoires et les archives non-matérielles du Sahara au sud du Maroc, rendues invisibles par l’Histoire officielle.

Transmis oralement dans un langage poétique par les populations locales, les récits qui relatent les événements politiques, culturels et sociaux inhérents au Sahara au sud du Maroc, disparaissent des discours officiels faute d’avoir été retranscrits sous forme de document. Ces savoirs immatériels constituent pourtant une matière historiographique essentielle de cet espace géographique apparaissant comme vide aux yeux des autres.

A la faveur d’une installation photographique et d’une pièce sonore, Al Amakine ouvre un interstice inédit qui met en lumière les micro-histoires du Sahara au sud marocain, et comble le silence et le vide projetés sur la région. Le projet invite dès lors le spectateur à écouter ces voix silencieuses et à décentrer son regard pour penser autrement ces espaces géographiques situés en dehors des cartes et des Histoires officielles.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 9 oct. au 5 déc. 2020

LIEU

Les Méjanes – Michel Vovelle – Patrimoine et archives municipales, Aix-en-Provence

ACCESSIBILITÉ

Près du Forum des Arts, à deux pas de la Bibliothèque Méjanes

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Abdessamad El Montassir (MAR)

Né en 1989, Abdessamad El Montassir vit et travaille entre Boujdour, Rabat et Marseille. Ses recherches sont axées sur une trilogie : le droit à l’oubli, les récits fictionnels et viscéraux, et le trauma d’anticipation.

Dans l’ensemble de son travail et de ses recherches, l’artiste met en place des processus réflexifs qui invitent à repenser l’Histoire et les cartographies à travers les récits collectifs ou fictionnels et les archives non matérielles. Dans un même temps, ses projets questionnent les traumatismes et leurs influences sur les individus, leurs comportements et leurs évolutions socio-politiques, et déploient des processus où ces traumatismes servent à l’historisation.

Ces problématiques, Abdessamad El Montassir les aborde en prenant en considération les savoirs des identités qui ne sont pas humaines – les plantes et les récits viscéraux – afin de faire émerger des manières renouvelées de penser nos environnements.

Crédits & mentions

Création réalisée en coproduction avec Le Cube – independent art room, Carte Blanche par Al Safar, l’Institut Français du Maroc, l’IMéRA avec l’aide du Labex RFIEA+, le gmem-CNCM-Marseille et la plateforme CHRONIQUES, soutenue par le Conseil régional de la Région Sud, la ville de Marseille et l’Institut français à Paris, coordonnée par SECONDE NATURE et ZINC.

Producteur délégué : Le Cube – independent art room.

Création sonore réalisée en collaboration avec Matthieu Guillin, compositeur.

Mise en oeuvre : la Société Lumière et l’Atelier Deuxième Oeil

Activités

Suspendisse consectetur luctus nisl et dictum. Etiam non augue cursus neque feugiat porta et eget nisl. Morbi quis urna id massa tempor pulvinar. Morbi ultricies arcu sed tempus tincidunt. Phasellus tempus, magna vel vulputate consectetur, lacus lectus fringilla risus, vitae volutpat nisl lectus et dui. Mauris pharetra diam sit amet nibh tempor ornare. Sed placerat varius suscipit. Morbi facilisis luctus condimentum. Etiam posuere risus nunc, et dignissim felis facilisis ut. Integer sollicitudin vulputate fringilla.

Découvrir les activités (prochainement)
  • Tout public
  • Jeune public