afterimage for tomorrow

SINGING CHEN

Virtual reality

A man wakes up in an unknown dimension of consciousness. What is it that he sees, hears and feels? Is it memory, virtual reality or terminal lucidity?

We perceive the world through eyes, ears, nose, tongue, body and mind. These sensory is stored as memory in words, pictures, sounds and moving images. With fractions of the transcribed memories, we are capable of returning to a specific point in time, which is an act of distortion and overlaying of time and space. However memories aren’t always reliable.

In Afterimage for Tomorrow, director Chen collaborates with choreographer Shu-Yi Chou to perform the ineffable in memories. This metafiction film sets in a futuristic world, where memories can be uploaded and perpetuated, thus leads to the discussion of what in life is worth storing. Persistence of Vision; when an object in rapid motion vanishes from sight, human brain creates a 0.1-0.4 seconds of optical illusion. How long will the images and memories we create today live in the future?

Practical Information

DATE

From 1 Dec. to 19 Dec. 2020

PLACE

Lieu 9, Office du Tourisme, Aix-en-Provence

FREE
on reservation

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Singing Chen (TWN)

Chen conveys his long-term social observation through documentaries and feature dramas. His approach of magical realism highlights the absurdity in reality, and points out the structural problem in the society. In his well constructed fast-paced works, he is capable of delivering subtle emotion and in-depth dynamics in characters.

Throughout time, his works are screened and nominated in Berlin Film Festival, Golden Horse Awards, Busan International Film Festival, Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival, Taipei Film Festival, Kaohsiung Film Festival, and Taiwan International Documentary Festival. Aside from being on set, he also produces scores for theater plays and films. Chen’s ability thus makes his work rich in rhythm and music.

Credits & mentions

This project is kindly supported by Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab.

afterimage for tomorrow

SINGING CHEN

Réalité virtuelle

Un homme se réveille plongé dans une dimension inconnue de sa conscience. Que voit-il, qu’entend-il, que ressent-il ? S’agit-il de sa mémoire, de réalité virtuelle ou de lucidité terminale ?

Nous percevons le monde par la vue, l’ouïe, l’odorat, le goût, le corps et l’esprit. Les informations données par ces sens sont stockées sous forme de souvenirs à travers des mots, des images, des sons et des mouvements. À travers des fractions de ces souvenirs enregistrés, nous sommes capables de revenir à un point précis dans le temps, en un acte de distorsion et de superposition du temps et de l’espace. Mais les souvenirs ne sont pas toujours fiables.

Dans Afterimage for Tomorrow, le réalisateur Chen collabore avec la chorégraphe Shu-Yi Chou pour interpréter le caractère ineffable du souvenir. Ce film de métafiction se déroule dans un monde futuriste, où les souvenirs peuvent être téléchargés et prolongés : qu’est-ce qui vaut d’être gardé dans nos vies ? Persistance rétinienne : lorsqu’un objet rapide disparaît de notre champ de vision, notre cerveau crée une illusion d’optique de 0,1 à 0,4 seconde. Combien de temps dureront les images et les souvenirs que nous créons aujourd’hui ?

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 14 Nov. au 19 Déc. 2020

LIEU

Lieu 9, Office du Tourisme, Aix-en-Provence

GRATUIT
sur réservation

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Singing Chen (TWN)

Singing Chen transmet les observations sociales qu’il mène depuis longtemps par le biais de documentaires et de longs métrages de fiction. Son approche du réalisme magique met en évidence l’absurdité du réel et souligne certains problèmes sociaux d’ordre structurel. À travers ses œuvres à la construction raffinée et au rythme rapide, il parvient à communiquer des émotions subtiles et évoquer les dynamique profondes qui traversent ses personnages.

Ses œuvres ont été présentées et nominées à la Berlinale, aux Golden Horse Awards, au Festival international du film de Busan, au Festival international du film documentaire de Yamagata, au Festival du film de Taipei, au Festival du film de Kaohsiung et au Festival international du documentaire de Taïwan. Il est également compositeur de musique pour le théâtre et le cinéma. Ce double talent enrichit son travail en terme de rythme et de musique.

Crédits & mentions

Ce projet est soutenu par Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab.