advienne

CYRIL MERONI

Live audiovisual 

Production CHRONIQUES 2020

In how many different ways can we experience the same lapse of time? How does this vagueness affect our way of perceiving our environment?

Advienne puts into perspective different temporalities within a spatialized audiovisual system, encompassing the viewer. Playing with our perception of time, this generative performance constantly forces us to readjust our perspectives. From concrete to abstract, landscapes in constant metamorphosis lead us into moving environments.

The project is the result of meetings and discussions with Alejandro Perez, physicist at the Center for Fundamental Physics in Luminy. His research attempts to unify so-called classical physics, which explains most macroscopic phenomena, with the latest theories of quantum mechanics which study the infinitely small, that is to say, the invisible matter that surrounds us and therefore time in its smallest fractions. 

Freely drawing inspiration from these theoretical works, Advienne provides a place where it is our way of observing the world that creates time. Thus the increasing, sometimes exponential, speed at which we feel the passage of time could perhaps decrease, or even be reversed, during a performance and create confusion; an almost meditative moment in order to rethink our relationship with the world.

Practical Information

DATE

15 Jan 2021 at 8 p.m.

PLACE

6MIC, Aix-en-Provence

ACCESS

Aixpress A Bus,
A few hundred meters from the Vasarely Foundation


© naïri

© naïri

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Cyril Meroni (FRA)

Coming from the music scene and trained as a special effects editor alongside the director Bruno Ulmer, then as a cameraman during many collective relational aesthetics projects, in his personal work Cyril Meroni experiments with the spatialization of sound and images.

Ranging from live audiovisuals to the scenography of shows and festivals, including numerous mappings and the production of two films, his creations allow him to explore different types of audiovisual narration. His artistic approach leads him to question the relationship between the precision of technology and the inherent imperfection of human action.

He has worked alongside Rioji Ikeda, Blanca Li, Anti VJ, Hubert Colas, and for the Exit, Fid, Le Festival d’Avignon, Le Bon Air… Co-artistic and technical director of the association Hexalab, he is also an independent trainer in post-production and video broadcasting software.

Credits & mentions

Creation supported by CNC, produced in co-production with gmem-CNCM-Marseille, Le Hublot, 6MIC, Hexalab, Montevideo, the Vasarely Foundation, the LEV festival and the CHRONIQUES platform, supported by the Regional Council of the South Region, the city ​​of Marseille and the French Institute in Paris, coordinated by SECONDE NATURE and ZINC.

advienne

CYRIL MERONI

Live audiovisuel

Production CHRONIQUES 2020

De combien de manières différentes pouvons-nous éprouver un même laps de temps ? Comment ce flou affecte-t-il notre façon de percevoir notre environnement ?

Advienne met en perspective différentes temporalités au sein d’un dispositif audiovisuel spatialisé, englobant le spectateur. Jouant avec notre perception du temps, cette performance générative nous oblige sans cesse à réajuster nos perspectives. Du concret à l’abstrait, des paysages en constante métamorphose nous entraînent dans des environnements mouvants.

Le projet est né de la rencontre et des échanges avec Alejandro Perez, chercheur physicien au Centre de physique fondamentale de Luminy. Ses recherches tentent d’unifier une physique dite classique, expliquant la plupart des phénomènes macroscopiques, aux dernières théories de mécanique quantique qui étudient l’infiniment petit, c’est à dire la matière invisible qui nous entoure et donc le temps dans ses fractions les plus infimes.

En s’inspirant librement de ces travaux théoriques, Advienne met en scène un espace où c’est notre manière d’observer le monde qui crée le temps. Ainsi la vitesse croissante, voire parfois exponentielle de notre sensation d’écoulement du temps pourrait peut-être diminuer, voire s’inverser, le temps d’une performance et créer le trouble ; un instant quasi méditatif afin de repenser notre rapport au monde.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Le 15 jan. 2021 à 20h

LIEU

6MIC, Aix-en-Provence

ACCESSIBILITÉ

Bus Aixpress A,
A quelques centaines de mètres de la Fondation Vasarely


© naïri

© naïri

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Cyril Meroni (FRA)

Issu de la scène musicale, formé comme monteur truquiste aux côtés du réalisateur Bruno Ulmer puis comme cadreur au cours de nombreux projets collectifs se revendiquant de l’esthétique relationnelle, Cyril Meroni expérimente dans sa pratique personnelle la mise en espace de l’image et du son. 

Du live audiovisuel à la scénographie de spectacles et de festivals, en passant par de nombreux mappings mais aussi par la réalisation de deux films, ses créations lui permettent d’explorer différents types de narration audiovisuelle. Sa démarche artistique le conduit à s’interroger sur la relation entre la précision de la technologie et l’inhérente imperfection de l’action humaine. 

Il a travaillé en tant aux côtés de Rioji Ikeda, Blanca Li, Anti VJ, Hubert Colas, et pour les festivals Exit, le Fid, Le Festival d’Avignon, Le Bon Air,…  Co-directeur artistique et technique de l’association Hexalab, il est aussi formateur indépendant sur des logiciels de post-production et de diffusion vidéo.

Crédits & mentions

Création soutenue par le CNC, réalisée en coproduction avec le gmem-CNCM-Marseille, Le Hublot, 6MIC, Hexalab, Montevideo, la Fondation Vasarely, le festival LEV et avec la plateforme CHRONIQUES, soutenue par le Conseil régional de la Région Sud, la ville de Marseille et l’Institut français à Paris, coordonnée par SECONDE NATURE et ZINC.