mental translations

Jesús Tamez-Duque

Installation

Who has not dreamt of exploring his creative spirit With « Máquina cerebral 4 », Jesús Tamez-Duque proposes an original interactive installation which immerses visitors into an exploration of their reactions to the abstract paintings of Anne-Marie Renan, whose intense work on gesture and color represent an ideal device.

Equipped with an EEG headset which measures brain activity, they become « interacteurs » as they step in and observe the works. Neural reactions are analyzed in real time and translated into waves of light and sound creating a new and ephemeral artistic piece around them.

The artist then follows up with a taste of the creative process leading up to « Máquina cerebral 4 » by involving the « interacteurs » in a new experience. Here, neural reactions are recorded in relation to preparatory works by Anne-Marie Renan, in order to determine the presence or absence of identifiable unconscious effects created by composition, pressure, and date of each exercise. These types of studies constitute the cornerstone of all installations by Jesús Tamez-Duque.

A NeuroMarseille and Arts Vivants production.
See also here.

Practical Information

DATE

From 14th to 17th jan. 2021 (from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m.)

FREE

PLACE

Atelier Anne-Marie Renan, Aix-en-Provence

ACCESS

Near the Courthouse

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Jesús Tamez-Duque (MEX)

Jesús Tamez-Duque is an Interdisciplinary Artist + Tech. Developer based at Aix-Marseille (France) and currently developing installations and projects within the EU, China and México.

Exhibiting first in México, his early museum-based installations integrated neuroscience to explore unconscious connections to art pieces, immortalizing and sharing aesthetic responses to pleasing interactions. Pieces quickly thereafter increased in complexity, interactivity and deeper integration of scientific concepts + tools.

His work is based on the principles that sciences are types of art, that new technologies are to be treated as evolutions of artistic media, that the century 21.2 calls for art which is lived and not simply witnessed, and that art is ultimately created by the audience or « interacteurs »; the three main points of what he calls « Art du papier ».

Credits & mentions

Media and technique : Máquina cerebral 4. ~80m of 12V + 20Amp DC LEDs over MDF panels + Emotiv Epoch+ MoBI on Touch Designer.

Intellectual Collaborators:
Fernando Martínez-García (back-end algorithm integration).
Memo Santos (front-end software integration).

Partners: Production – INDI Ingénierie et Design. Co-production – Arts Vivants Aix, NeuroSchool Aix-Marseille. With the support of EMOTIV and Atelier Anne-Marie Renan.

mental translations

Jesús Tamez-Duque

Installation

Qui n’a pas rêvé d’explorer son esprit créatif ? Avec « Máquina cerebral 4 », Jesús Tamez-Duque propose une expérience inédite qui amène les visiteurs à explorer leur réactivité à la peinture abstraite d’Anne-Marie Renan, dont le travail intense sur le geste et la couleur présente un dispositif idéal.

Equipés d’un casque EEG qui mesure l’activité cérébrale, les « interacteurs » observent les tableaux. Leur activité neuronale face aux toiles est analysée en temps réel puis retransmise en ondes lumineuses et sonores qui créent à leur tour une oeuvre artistique éphémère.

L’artiste proposera ensuite de s’immerger dans le processus de création de la « Máquina cerebral 4 » en se prêtant à une expérience originale. Les réactions neuronales face à une sélection de travaux préparatoires d’Anne-Marie Renan seront enregistrées pour déterminer la présence ou l’absence de signaux identifiables générés par la composition, la pression et la date de réalisation. Ces études constituent la pierre angulaire de toutes les installations de Jesús Tamez-Duque.

Une production NeuroMarseille et Arts Vivants.
Voir aussi ici.

Infos pratiques

DATE

Du 12, 13 et 15 nov. de 13h30 à 18h

GRATUIT

LIEU

Atelier Anne-Marie Renan, Aix-en-Provence

ACCESSIBILITÉ

A proximité du Palais de Justice

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Jesús Tamez-Duque (MEX)

Jesús Tamez-Duque est un artiste interdisciplinaire et un développeur de technologies basé sur le territoire de la Métropole Aix-Marseille-Provence (France). Il développe actuellement des installations et des projets dans l’UE, en Chine et au Mexique.

Exposées d’abord au Mexique, ses premières installations muséales ont intégré la neuroscience pour explorer les réactions et les connexions inconscientes face aux oeuvres d’art. Ses pièces ont ensuite rapidement gagné en complexité pour permettre une interactivité accrue et une meilleure intégration des concepts et des outils scientifiques.

Son travail s’appuie sur le principe que les sciences sont une forme d’art, que les nouvelles technologies doivent être traitées comme une évolution des médias artistiques, que le 21e siècle appelle à créer un art qui se vit et pas simplement dont on est témoin, et que l’art est finalement créé par le public ou ceux qu’il nomme les « interacteurs » ; ce sont les trois points principaux de ce qu’il appelle « l’Art du papier ».

 

Crédits & mentions

Media et technique : Máquina cerebral 4. ~80m of 12V + 20Amp DC LEDs over MDF panels + Emotiv Epoch+ MoBI on Touch Designer.

Collaborateurs intellectuels :
Fernando Martínez-García (intégration des algorithmes back-end).
Memo Santos (intégration des logiciels front-end).

Partenaires : Production – INDI Ingénierie et Design. Co-production – Arts Vivants Aix, NeuroSchool Aix-Marseille. Avec le soutien de EMOTIV et Atelier Anne-Marie Renan.