Conference of trees

PANTHA DU PRINCE

Concert

In his latest musical experiment “Conference of Trees” Hendrik Weber aka Pantha Du Prince translates the communication of trees into an impressive sound journey.

What does it sound like when trees communicate? This is the question the German composer, electronic music producer and conceptual artist Pantha Du Prince attempts to answer in his latest album. The depths of his exploration into this mysterious language clearly visible by the various routes he takes into uncovering it; which spans the scientific studies of forest ecology professor Suzanne Simard, to Erwin Thoma’s ‘The Secret Language of Trees’, to the mystical meanderings of the 12th century Sufi, Farīd-al-dīn Attar. 

The instruments Pantha du Prince uses on “Conference of Trees” are the tools for his exploration; partly handmade by the artist himself, who wanted to explore the sound characteristics of different woods through intensive studies of the material. He is supported by a percussion ensemble consisting of Håkon Stene and Bendik Hovik Kjeldsberg, who already participated in his last ensemble project The Bell Laboratory, and Manuel Chittka, drummer of the German artist Jungstötter. Jazz musician Friedrich Paravicini also participated in the arrangements. 

For an artist who was mainly producing electronic music up to this point, working with wood instruments also meant a shift in day-to-day habits, “Spending so much time in front of the computer and working with electronic machines started feeling a bit bleak to me,” explains Pantha Du Prince, “I wanted to find a way to spend more time outdoors and to legitimize it with art.”

This event is supported by the urban community program Lecture par Nature 2020.

Practical Information

DATE

16 jan. 2021

DURATION

70′

© Stephan Abry

Share this event on social networks

Artist

Pantha du Prince (GER)

Pantha Du Prince is a producer, composer and conceptual artist hailing from Bad Wildungen, West Germany born in 1975. Since his debut in 2005 he has released four albums and become as well known for his art exhibitions as he is for his pioneering work in minimal techno.

His mastery of the avant-garde even extends to the conceptual art exhibitions he’s been featured in since 2004 and he remains an influential name in the world’s techno scene to this day, able to work with the likes of Animal Collective, LCD Soundsystem and !!! on the same album to name but a few. After over a decade in the business, he’s still innovating and inspiring, for that, he comes highly recommended.

Conference of trees

PANTHA DU PRINCE

Concert

Dans sa dernière expérience musicale en date, Conference of Trees, Hendrik Weber, plus connu sous le nom de Pantha Du Prince, traduit la communication des arbres en un voyage sonore étourdissant.

À quoi ressemble la communication des arbres entre eux ? C’est la question à laquelle le compositeur, producteur de musique électronique et artiste conceptuel allemand Pantha Du Prince tente de répondre avec son dernier album. Il y mène une exploration en profondeur de ce langage mystérieux, en empruntant différentes voies : des études scientifiques de Suzanne Simard, professeur d’écologie forestière, au Langage secret des arbres d’Erwin Thoma, en passant par les flâneries mystiques de Farīd-al-dīn Attar, soufi du XIIe siècle.

Les instruments que Pantha du Prince emploie dans Conference of Trees sont les outils de son exploration ; ils sont en partie fabriqués à la main par l’artiste lui-même, qui a voulu sonder les caractéristiques sonores des différentes essences à travers des études minutieuses. Il est accompagné par un ensemble de percussions composé de Håkon Stene et Bendik Hovik Kjeldsberg, qui avaient déjà participé à son dernier projet d’ensemble, The Bell Laboratory, et de Manuel Chittka, batteur pour l’artiste allemand Jungstötter. Le musicien de jazz Friedrich Paravicini a également participé aux arrangements.

Pour un artiste qui, jusqu’à présent, produisait principalement de la musique électronique, travailler avec des instruments en bois suppose une rupture dans ses habitudes quotidiennes : « Passer autant de temps devant l’ordinateur et travailler avec des machines électroniques commençait à me sembler un peu triste », explique Pantha Du Prince. « Je voulais trouver un moyen de passer plus de temps dans la nature, et de légitimer ce temps par la création. »

Une proposition soutenue dans le cadre de la manifestation métropolitaine Lecture par Nature 2020.

Infos pratiques

DATE

14 Nov. 2020 à 18h

RESERVATION

Tarif 12€ en prévente
15€ sur place

Durée

70min

LIEU

Amphithéâtre de la Verrière, Aix-en-Provence

TARIFS
Tarif 12€ en prévente et 15€ sur place

© Stephan Abry

Partagez cet événement sur les réseaux sociaux

Artiste

Pantha du Prince (GER)

Pantha Du Prince, né en 1975, est un producteur, compositeur et artiste conceptuel originaire de Bad Wildungen, en Allemagne de l’Ouest. Depuis ses débuts en 2005, il a sorti quatre albums. Ses expositions d’art lui valent autant la reconnaissance que sa techno minimale.

Sa maîtrise de l’avant-garde s’étend même aux expositions d’art conceptuel auxquelles il participe depuis 2004, et il reste à ce jour une personnalité influente sur la scène techno mondiale, travaillant sur le même album avec des artistes tels que Animal Collective, LCD Soundsystem, et !!!, entres autres. Après plus de dix ans d’activité, il continue à innover et à inspirer ses pairs.